Daddy’s home…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
It has been an extremely long week, one which I have been super whiney about. My husband has had a project at work that has kept him away from home most of the week, day and night. The kids have missed him, I have missed him, and I think our dog even missed him, which is surprising because he usually doesn’t miss anyone but me, a trait I could do without. The dog is clingy and possessive.

So Monday I took it in stride, Tuesday night he was home and I was out, then Wednesday night and Thursday night he was gone until 11pm or later. So the kids really haven’t seen him much, with the rain and Em’s illness we haven’t been out too much, needles to say, the walls were closing in on us.

I was starting to get just a tiny bit bitchy…(ah hmm, Be nice Stephan)and now he’s home and I feel so much better. It is amazing how just having another adult in the house can bring comfort. I feel a sense of relaxation I hadn’t had before. Right now he is sleeping on the couch and Emerie is watching “Magic in the water”, Owen is sleeping and I am waiting for Mesha to get home so I can take her to Cameron to meet Grandma, then off to work. This will be my last formal weekend in the weekend option program.

I feel bad now for being so disgruntled with him being at work as much as he was. He had to be there, he didn’t have a choice. I heard from a few friends today who put it into perspective for me. Neither of them knew about how I was feeling but all they had to do was tell me a little about their lives and I shut up pretty quickly. One of them has a husband who is gone most of the time, she babysits full time, and doesn’t really ever get a break, I don’t think she is ever without kids. And to beat that her house is “the place to be” in the neighborhood so all the moms come over and “visit” with their kids quite often. I told her she needed a spa day, she agreed, but I don’t think it is going to happen any time soon.

My other friend just got a terrible diagnosis. Her life is going to dramatically change and she is such and inspiration to me. She is the kind of person who would do anything for you. She has a friend, who has a mean husband, this woman has to work and take care of their children herself, she doesn’t get any support from her husband who owns his own business. She doesn’t make that much money so my friend watches her 3 kids for her, one of which is an infant. My friend has 3 kids of her own, the youngest are twins. She is fun, energetic, and a scream. I am really sad for her. Keep her in your prayers.

In reflection, I will try to keep a positive outlook next time something like this happens, but I know one thing for sure; I never really fully understood the phrase, “Having kids is like being pecked to death by a duck”, until this week, thanks Renee. But that pecking is something one day I will miss and probably long for. As for now I am pecked but not dead, and glad to have my flock back together.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daddy’s home…

  1. stamperdad says:

    I really enjoyed reading this. Sometimes we spouses take the other one for granted. I hate being away from my wife. My favorite saying is that “Home is the most important place”. If you and your spouse have passion and love for each other, it permeates the home. Children sense the love that spouses have for each other. It is just so important.

    Steve Davis
    http://stamperdad.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. peckedtodeath says:

    That is one hilarious picture of Stephan;) And for the record, I’m not sure I’ll miss the pecking. It’s genetic. My Mom is much happier now that we all are away from home and she gets to play with her grandchildren and send them back to us.

    Like

Respond

