Air Bud and Great Aunt Geneva…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
You may think it is ridiculous for an old lady to be tormented by the need for a golden retriever flick; but my great Aunt has been afflicted…with the spell of love cast by that adorable canine we all know as “Air Bud.” Up until now she’s really only had eyes for Jack Tripper of “Three’s Company”, she watches it religiously and mourns when it doesn’t air that day. But I think she has found a replacement. I’ve never seen this movie, but apparently I need to, because my great Aunt Geneva can think of nothing else. She was watching animal planet one day and happened to see the movie and she’s been hooked ever since, and I quote; “I just can’t get him(Bud) out of my head.” According to my Mom she has been unable to find the VHS and she wasn’t going to consider moving to a DVD player, it just wasn’t an option. She is in her 80’s and I can understand the desire to stick with what you know. So my mother enlisted me to help find her an “Air Bud” movie on VHS, I didn’t have any luck.

Finally my mom calls, “Well Geneva bought herself a DVD player.” She did this for one reason and one reason only, she had to have her “Air Bud”. I thought this was great because now she could finally find some peace and solace right?…wrong, the Wal-Mart in Bethany MO where they live does not carry Air Bud. So they went to the video store and they didn’t have it to rent either, geez, what does it take to get an old lady her fix anyway. It wasn’t like they were looking for some dark foreign indie film, it’s freakin’ Air Bud for heaven sake, what kind of flippin world are living in right? Once again my mom asked me to see what I could do. So I am thinking, surely I can find it in KC, and I did, the Blockbuster right down the street had it for a measly $14.99, small price to pay for the sanity of an elder.

But, there was a bonus involved…a trade if you will, she would hook me up with some sweet wigs for halloween if I could deliver Air Bud. I got my wigs and she got her Air Bud and the world is at peace again. I just hope she is able to relax and enjoy her movie…I know I am little nervous, the guy at blockbuster said I was opening a can of worms, there are six in the series…

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Air Bud and Great Aunt Geneva…

  1. peckedtodeath says:

    We are big fans of Air Bud around here – the best is the Volleyball movie. There is currently a “new release” called Air Buddies – about Air Bud’s pups. I can’t believe I just admitted to watching these movies, but they are pretty cute. They are DVD player purchase worthy. If your Aunt ever wants the real thing, I’m sure Ed would deliver Hero to her front door.

    Like

  2. rolandapete says:

    Really, you think he would part with Hero, does he throw some sweet free throws and jump shots?

    Like

  3. Pingback: Geneva Madison, God rest her soul… « Peterson People

Respond

