Kids say the darndest things…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

My son is darker skinned than the rest of us, that doesn’t necessarily mean he isn’t my husbands child. If you have ever seen my husband you’d know that he is very white, he is the white man’s, white man, and that’s…ok. But I have this friend, and you know who you are, her initials are Tracy Anderson, but we like to call her Anna Nicole:) Anyway, this friend likes to call my son Owen Redcorn, because she thinks I must have my very own Native American masseur and licensed new age healer. John Redcorn is a character from King of the Hill and if you’ve never seen it, go out and rent it, Hank will make you laugh until shite yourself and if you don’t it’s because the show is actually about you. In that case, forget I said anything. But I digress, Owen has a great complexion and we all think he is a super cute guy who must have gotten his coloring from my Granny, Mary Madison, who was a full blooded native american from the Nez Perce tribe. Now, having said all that, I have to tell you what our neighbor Abby said this morning.

Abby came over to play while mommy went to work, so we were having fun playing and doing toddler stuff when out of nowhere Abby asks me, “Is Owen black or white?” Which is funny because I didn’t even realize she knew the difference, but she is a pretty smart cookie so I just went with it and responded, “Owen is white honey.” I typically don’t refer to Caucasian and African America people using the color-wheel, but this is what kids understand, so white it was. Now I’m paranoid, if a toddler can tell that my son looks darker than us what are my neighbors thinking? Am I a real live Nancy Gribble? Do people whisper and assume that there was a “John Redcorn” in my life? I hope not, let’s just call this clearing the record.

Needless to say we had a fun morning and Emerie very much enjoyed Abby. I had to talk Emerie through many difficult sharing episodes but she managed to pull it off. One particular time while she and Abby were having a tea party I held up a little plastic pink cup and said, “Let’s have a toast”, she looked at me intently and said, “No mommy, it’s tea!” I asked her to smile with her cup for a picture, she stated there was no more tea, and said, “The tea party is over!” She pulled her things together and laid over them so we couldn’t enjoy anymore imaginary refreshments. That’s the last time I have a tea party with a toddler!

One last thing, the other night we went out for supper at “The Corner Cafe” in Liberty. Country food, really yummy, not very good for you but great nonetheless. The restaurant has lots of memorabilia on the walls, antiques etc. Well, there is this old Indian man carved out of wood. Owen keeps stretching out his arms to the life like figurine and Stephan casually tells me he is going to take Owen over there to see it. Next thing I know Stephan makes a beeline back over to me, has Owen in his arms and is laughing, I say, “What’s wrong?” to which he replies, “I took him over there and he started calling that thing Daddy”…
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kids say the darndest things…

  1. peckedtodeath says:

    OMG – I can’t believe that came out of my daughter’s mouth! We also don’t refer to people using the “color wheel”, so I have no idea where that came from!

    I do love the pics – especially the one with the wigs. Most of the time I was reading this post I was LMAO:) Too funny!

    I hope Abby didn’t offend you or the adorable Mr Owen – she has talked about coming back and playing at Emerie’s house all afternoon and evening……

    Like

  2. rolandapete says:

    Oh forget about it. She didn’t offend anyone, she probably didn’t even know what she was saying, as a matter of fact she may have been talking about something completely unrelated, who knows, I just thought it was funny! And we want her to come back and play anytime! Emerie had fun, as long as Abby wasn’t offended by the abruptly ending tea party:)

    Like

  3. Anna says:

    I am totally peeing in my pants from laughing so hard… Nancy Gribble!!! Your poor husband Dale hasn’t even a clue!!!! Owen tried to tell him… show him his anciestors. Too cute!!! Your kids crack me up!!! So…… I’ve been having this headache… Do you know anyone???
    See ya Friday! I’m going to sing a beauuuuutiful duet…..

    Like

Respond

