Debutantes?

Had some teenagers over again this weekend. Mesha had her posse of girl gamers in for an all-nighter. I got a few good pictures of them. I really enjoy having a place they can all come to and feel comfortable hanging out together. When I was her age home was the last place I wanted to be. I was always out “hanging out” with friends getting into trouble and being up to mostly no good. I think it is important for kids to feel good at home. I know she whines about being disciplined, she rolls her eyes about our comments, and mainly just gripes about anything we do, but the thing I really know well is that this behavior is the nature of the beast. I know that deep inside she likes the discipline, and is glad we have the time to comment on her behavior. I think she knows we are proud of her and the big decisions she makes. Even though she farts out loud and burps at the table, we get mad at her and tell her to be polite, even though she acts like a big goof ball, we love her, and are committed to her becoming a great young person who loves and respects herself.

She is a busy girl, and high school is so much harder than it used to be. Mesha is a diver and runs cross country, she plays viola in the symphonic orchestra, and is active in her church youth group. All these things keep her busy but nothing makes me prouder than how she tries to impact the lives of her friends. She really cares about them and tells me she prays for them every night. She has a few that she keeps on her prayer list and some that she specifically seeks out to befriend because she knows they are atheists. I think it is cool that she doesn’t judge them. Sometimes it can be hard to figure out your spiritual life at a young age and it can be easier to judge than to approach peers with love and understanding.

She went out with us on our “date night” tonight. We don’t get to spend much time with just her these days so it was nice. We had a good time, we had dinner and a movie. She is such a funny girl, I’m blessed to be her mom.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

