The Gratitudes…

Today I am grateful for…

1. A home
2. My children
3. Fall weather
4. Quiet
5. This moment

I am sure there will be many days when finding something to be grateful for will be hard. Let’s be honest, most of us are selfish people and if things aren’t going our way, life sucks. I admit that I can be that way quite often. I hope this listing will help me to see that I have things pretty darn good. I can’t imagine going without food and clothing for my children, or electricity etc. I was talking to a friend the other day about sponsoring needy families for the holidays. This is the time of year when churches and other various groups get together and find people to give to. I was immediately struck by the thought that it was sad we had to get a “church referral” to find these people. I was humbled by the realization that I should know needy people, I should have these people in my life on a daily basis, that we shouldn’t have to get a referral during Christmas time, that we should make an effort to reach these people in our communities all of the time. I remember being one of these people. I was a single mother, going to school and working. I wish I could go back in time and tell myself not to worry and to be grateful for what I did have, to be grateful for the future…

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gratitudes…

  1. Tom says:

    Karen thinks I’m a needy person. She says I need people around me so I can make them laugh until they pee. I don’t think I “make” people laugh until they pee. It kinda comes natural. What do you think?

    Like

  2. rolandapete says:

    Tom your so funny. Especially the laugh until they pee part. I think what comes naturally is your ability to dress yourself, especially the shoes.

    Like

Respond

