Thrift store whore…

whore (from word net)

noun

1. a woman who engages in sexual intercourse for money

verb
1. work as a prostitute
2. have unlawful sex with a whore
3. compromise oneself for money or other gains; “She whored herself to Hollywood”

I am thinking in terms of numero tres here, as “She whored herself to the thrift store and it made her husband happy:)”

Not to be lewd or rude, but man I’m good. I bought Owen a new winter coat at JCPenny a week ago, retailed for $49.99, on sale for $25.00, cute coat, nothing spectacular. So today I am in the thrift store, I usually go to peruse the racks at least once a week. I find a cute winter coat, same color, a blue cord coat for church, 6 pairs of shoes, one pair of slippers, an Old Navy jumper dress, gap sweat pants, carter pullover, a “my dad’s a geek” t-shirt, and a brand new toy tool set all for the bargain price of $30.00! Not to mention the fact that the shoes were gymboree (2pairs), Nike, Timberland, TKS, and Barbie. I love that place. I mean I know it’s a pain for some people to go every week, but I love it. I feel like a hunter and my adrenaline gets pumping every time I go in just thinking about the money I am going to save. I know a gal at work who doesn’t like to wear or have her children wear used things, it just freaks her out. But I own a washer and a dryer, and it freaks me out more to know that I could have spent over $300 on all that stuff brand new. And it wasn’t like this stuff looks raggedy; to the contrary, it looks great! The gymboree tennis shoes need a little scrubbing on the toes, but she is going to play in them, I would never buy brand new shoes at gymboree, not at this point in my life. I just can’t drop $40-$50 on shoes knowing I could buy used much cheaper. PLUS, the whole green thing comes into play when buying used, it’s good for my pocketbook, it’s good for the environment, it’s good any way you slice it, unless of course you wouldn’t want to be caught dead in the thrift store. In that case, it’s good for me, because you won’t get the bargains. Julia Roberts shops used I might add:)

So I am taking the coat back to JCP, and will probably get 28 bucks back, so I got all that stuff and spent $2 more than I spent on the new coat, I love a good deal!

The new coat

The used goods

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thrift store whore…

  1. Tom says:

    Well you and Karen are definitely thrift sisters. All our kids’ clothes have been on other kids. It is STUPID to spend retail $ when you can almost always find new or nearly new stuff on the racks for less than a 1/3 of the price of new. We have good friends that wouldn’t be caught dead in a goodwill or salvation army, but to us it’s treasure hunting. Just wash them when you get home and voila! I was a little leary of the speedos for myself but if they’re stain free they’re on me!

    Like

  2. karen says:

    Tom told me about your thrift post, so I had to come over and just feel your gut-pumping thrifting vibes coming off the computer screen and all your GREAT deals!!! I LOVE a good deal. I about pee when I see a garage sale sign and I know a have a couple bucks in my purse to blow. I can really clean up! I get no satisfaction from going to the mall – I actually hate it. Thrifting is treasure hunting.

    I did the ultimate in “bad” this year (in other’s opinions)and bought some of the kid’s Christmas at garage sales! It all looked brand new and sooo cheap.

    So high five from one “whore” to another! 🙂

    Like

  3. rolandapete says:

    I did that last year with the Christmas thing, who cares! And they’ll never know, I think they loved their gifts just as much as if they were bought in the store. It was just a few things that I wanted to buy for them and being that it was Christmas time it worked out all the better!

    Like

  4. Andrea says:

    I hear ya, sister!!!! Recycle, recycle, recycle!!!!

    Like

  5. rolandapete says:

    Hey Andrea, good to hear from you.

    Like

  6. Hey.
    It is number three. You are right!
    Awesome post. You are so funny.
    Don’t know if you visited my site…if you did, then thank you! Hope it continues to inspire your shopping escapades.

    Sincerely,
    TSW

    Like

  7. rolandapete says:

    Hi there- nope never saw your site until your comment. I really didn’t steal your name I promise. Just have always thought of myself that way…:-) I will check out your site though, looks awesome! Thanks for the comment.

    Like

Respond

