Dive meet in Nebraska

We went to Nebraska this past weekend for a dive meet that Mesha was in. It was a pretty big meet, over 100 divers. Mesha did well, medaling in both 1M and 3M, she got 2nd on high, 3rd on low board. No small potatoes considering the first place diver is recognized internationally. She took gold on platform at the Pan Am international dive meet in Puerto Rico. Mesha starts her first day of high school diving tomorrow. She will be diving low board every day after school until 5 and Saturdays with the twisters, her club team. We are so proud of her.

On a lighter note we got to stay at one of Lincoln’s finest motels Friday night. Being that Nebraska was playing K state the accommodations were limited. We found a vacancy at the Travelodge. Let’s put it this way, the only way it differed from the hostel I stayed at in NYC was the latitude and longitude. Scary, smelly, and a little loud but nevertheless a bed. Although I did ask Stephan, “If someone paid you $80 to sleep in your car for one night, would you?”, he didn’t reply. But had it been summer or spring, I would have seriously considered it. But hey they had cable, and a great continental breakfast, what does that mean anyway, free continental breakfast? Waffles, doughnuts, green bananas, cheerios, the usual, is that continental food? And the staff was friendly. My travel rating… 5/10 dirty bed comforters.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Mesha and her coach Dave

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
a blurry pic of Mesha doing a dive on low board

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

