The Devil came down to Texas and Garth came to Kansas City

Wow, I didn’t realize so many people loved Garth Brooks, 9 shows in all, packed Sprint Center, whew. I also didn’t know that there are very few African Americans that liked Garth Brooks. Unless it was honkey night I only saw two, and they were both in the band. Just an observation, in such a multicultural society it becomes very obvious when so little diversity is present. But I guess I can understand, being that country music is very culturally specific and historically African American cowboys are far less in number than white ones. Also I can’t imagine finding throngs of white folks at a Luther Vandross show either. Good R&B has somehow escaped the repertoire of most white Americans…but I digress.A few of the highlights-

  • My husband and his brother sitting separated by the wives “wooohoooing” in genetic unison. 
  • The full on cowboy with tight wranglers, 10 gallon hat, boots and all, standing in the sprint center fiddling with his…yep you guessed it, Blackberry.
  • Audible decrease in women’s screaming every time Garth took his hat off, not that there’s anything wrong with that.
  • Being first out of the concert before the masses enabled us to see several zombie like women slumped around on the sidewalks, mumbling something about friends in low places.

Seriously though, he put on a great show and I really enjoyed it, especially when the breeze shifted downward and I didn’t have to smell the folks in front of me, bless their hearts…
My rating: 8/10 ten gallon hats

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Chad and Carrie Peterson

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Why does my head look so much bigger than his???

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

