Nothing Gold Can Stay

We have this amazing tree in our backyard. In the fall it turns an amazing shade of burnt orange and crimson and I was able to capture some beautiful pictures of Emerie Grace by it. I love the fall, this particular day it was like 70 degrees and our last official nice day of the year. From here on out it will be cold, cold, cold. This tree and these pictures remind me of the poem by Robert Frost, “Nothing gold can stay”, a rather sad take on life I guess but it reminds me to remember and cherish these days, when my children are young and full of life and energy.

DSCN7768.JPG

DSCN7752.JPG

DSCN7763.JPG

Nothing Gold Can Stay- Robert Frost

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nothing Gold Can Stay

  1. peckedtodeath says:

    Those are BEAUTIFUL picutures of Em – I’m very jealous. I tried to get some pics of the kids by our tree and had no luck. I’m hiring you next year!

    Like

  2. karen says:

    Gorgeous pics!!!! I love the fall hues. They do something beautiful to pictures; must be the way the sunlight slants or something.

    Like

Respond

