Ok, Saturday night.

We leave at 6ish to get to the sport’s bar to watch the game, we planned on leaving at 5:30, but we have kids, so you know the deal. We get to Ameristar and there is a line out the door, they tell is there is no possible way to get in before kick-off and who knows when we’ll get a table after that, we leave. We are with some friends, Kim and Kelly Elliott, we race to their van and start texting google for local sports bar phone numbers, 57th street is full, the Landing is full, The Dish is full, we are getting really nervous, it’s like 6:30 at this point, someone makes the proposition that we get some beer and drive around and listen to the game. Kelly remembers that his son is good friends with the manager of this pool joint called the Brass Rail, nice place, big screen, bar, food, etc. He calls and “Hubbs“, gets us a table for six because my brother and his wife are on their way to join us. When we get there, “Hubbs” has a place reserved for us with at his families table, right in front of the big screen, Hubbs, if your out there, you are our hero.

The only thing is, there is another family there, taking up like 6 tables, directly in front of the TV, and they are not there to watch the game, oh no, they are having a family Christmas party and playing games, standing up, in front of the TV. The game is about to begin and this is what we see…
DSCN7949.JPG

Thank goodness the festivities started winding down just as they game began, I was a little worried for them.

The air was thick, everyone was pupmed, we had a few sooners in the crowd but not enough to ruin our time. Then after the half, the MU and OU fans started getting fisty, too much alcohol, too many onion rings who knows but this was the result…
DSCN7963.JPGDSCN7964.JPG
Yes these nice young men were expelled from the bar for being passionate about the game, whatever…

But the highlight of the evening was meeting Paul Ruebens, I am not sure what his real name was but I could have sworn he was pee-wee in the flesh. He sat with Hubbs’ family and actually gave us VIP passes to Raul’s Velvet Room, he is a DJ there on Saturday nights. We took his picture and Hubbs’ mom said I should tell him my blog address so he could see what I write and see the pics, so I offered but he humbly declined citing that fact that his face is already out there on several sites, the myspace sites of friends and what not, so I didn’t push it. It was great to meet him, I just really wished he would have gotten on the bar and done the Tequila jig. 😦 Oh well.
DSCN7951.JPG

Here are a few other pics, Kim and Kelly, My brother Austin and his wife Melissa, and Stephan. It was a good time, but walked out of there like wounded pups, we still love you Tigers, you had a great season, we always have next year!
DSCN7958.JPGDSCN7962.JPGDSCN7957.JPG

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, humor, New Category. Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

