The Gratitudes

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

It’s time for another gratitude, frankly I think it has been way too long. Here goes:

1) America’s funniest home videos. I can be in the worst funk and this show makes me laugh, cheesy I know, but it is therapeutic for me.

2) My job, I really enjoy the job, and the people I do it with, they make ER fun.

3) Clean bathroom’s.

4) A nice day that the kids can play at the park instead of being cooped up and stir-crazy.

5) Almost being done Christmas shopping.

So maybe it is a more superficial list, but there are some things I am grateful for every day, and I wanted to find something new to be grateful for.

I did take the kids out today, we went to the thrift store and got my mom a tree, a little table tree, very cute, I know she won’t buy one for herself so this one will be perfect. It kind of reminds me of the year we had a tumble weed Christmas tree when I was a teenager in New Mexico. Wow, that was a rough year, we were poor, my mom and I shared a small two bedroom house with another lady and her daughter. Mom told me to go out and find a tumble weed, I brought it in and we decorated it with tinsel and green ribbon. I have to say that was absolutely the prettiest tumble weed I have ever seen. We set it up in a foldgers coffee can of kitty litter, clean mind you, and put the few presents we had under it. I remember getting a book from my mom, “The Dreamers Dictionary”, I used that book until it literally fell apart, and I was very thankful for it.

I am very glad to be financially blessed. I am glad that we can pay our bills and buy lots of presents, I am glad that we don’t have to continually worry about money. Notice I said “continually”. 🙂 But there is something to be said for having a time in real need in ones life. I really don’t remember being as thankful for any gift like I was that one. I know my mother reached deep into her pockets for that gift, I treasured that book. Seems like our kids are spoiled, I think it is time for a wake up call. I don’t think my teenage daughter knows what it feels like to really need something. Nor will she ever know what it feels like to have a winter without heat, and to have to boil your bath water in the mornings before school, when 3 other people have to do the same thing. another element of that winter I left out.

We have our kids Christmas shopping pretty much done, I think we may have done more than we should have. Even if we were very rich I think I would feel that way. I really feel the need to try and make this Christmas one that will leave an impression on my oldest one, at least help her to see the need in this world. If you have any suggestions, let me know.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Gratitudes

  1. peckedtodeath says:

    I really like the gratitudes section of your blog. It makes me realize how much I have to be thankful for also:) You’ve inspired me – I might start someting similar on my blog (I know, I’m a copycat;)

    As for Mesha, one of the things I’ve thought about doing when the kids get a little older is a family day volunteering at a food kitchen or something similar. I know our kids are spoiled also, but I would like them to know they are very fortunate and there are many, many people out there who are not so fortunate….. I hope that seeing this first hand and doing something to help will give them the empathy and understanding that I know my repeated comments about children who are less fortunate do not.

    Like

  2. rolandapete says:

    Thanks Renee, I thought about this one. I am in the process of checking into something like that right now. I think it would be great to start your own gratitude section, or whatever you want to call it. I was inspired by someone else who mentioned they journal that way, so I guess that is the point. 🙂

    Like

  3. Grandama says:

    Man, you’re bringing back a lot of memories from that long, cold winter of 90/91. I never thought of it as the prettiest tumbleweed, I always thought of it as the most beautiful christmas tree. Seeing Snak, the cat, with a two inch string of tinsel hanging out of his mouth, then pulling on it and he has the whole 2 ft long piece of tinsel in him. The valley usually is so warm but that winter the pipes broke in the back yard spigot it was so cold, I could go on and on about that winter but I won’t. Taylor is going to be fine, you can be grateful and thankful without having to actually go through hard times and getting punched in the stomach at each turn. For a teenager I think she is actually a grateful and thankful person.

    Like

Respond

