So I see you’re not feeling well??

 

 

 

So last night I spent like $200 on medicines at Walgreens, and I happen to have the crud along with a few other members of my family, so the cashier was looking a little perplexed as I stacked my tylenol, motrin, dayquil, nyquil, mucinex, delsym, excedrin, mentholatum, etc…on the counter. As she was silently scanning and trying to be discreet about sizing me up I stated slowly, “We’re not feeling so good.” I thought it would be funny to see her reaction, you know a little social experiment can be fun from time to time. She then said, “I can see that!” Then I told her we had some money left in our flexible spending account, and she siad, “Ahhhhh.” If you don’t know what a flexible spending account is, I’ll explain; Stephan’s employer takes money out of his check, pre-tax, for us to spend on healthcare, including medicine. If you have any left in your account at year’s end, you loose it. I wasn’t going to loose it.

 So, I had to come home and clean out the medicine cabinet. I really was surprised to find some massively expired medicines. The funniest things I found was a jar of mineral ice and a bottle of castor oil. I don’t for the life of me ever remember buying theses. The mineral ice expired in 95, the oil in 1989. I guess a vintage 1989 castor oil would cure some constipation now wouldn’t it? If I did indeed buy the castor oil I would have had to have been in the 9th or 10th grade, and to have toted it around with me all these years would be asinine. Not to mention the fact that the bottle is still full, so I guess I never needed it. Oh well, it’s a mystery…

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So I see you’re not feeling well??

  1. Stephan says:

    It’s not mine. I didn’t bring it to the marriage.

    Maybe the people we bought the house from left it as a house warming gift. If so, we should probably send them a thank you note.

    Like

  2. rolandapete says:

    Maybe we can send it back!

    Like

  3. Grandma says:

    I hope you stocked up on diphenhydramine (benadryl) and aspirin, the real pain reliever, and what else, maybe some vicks and flannel…

    Like

  4. Grandma says:

    That castor oil was probably one of those bottles u save as a future antique…? You probably BOUGHT it to save for the bottle, or maybe it was from granny’s cabinet!

    Like

Respond

