Barney says share…

DSCN8004.JPG

The kids having gymnastics night in our room before bed

Emerie says to me yesterday, “Look mom, I have your pretty ring, here you have this one,(she hands me another ring), I wear this one.” She dangles the ring from her finger and starts dancing around, and in her best rainman she utters over and over, “Barney says share, Barney says share.” I grab the ring and and say, “Oh no honey, this ring isn’t Barney’s, it’s moms, and we don’t play with that.”

Today we are sitting on the couch and she looks at me with wide eyes full of hope and excitement, and out of no where she asks, “Mommy, you go upstairs with me and skip and hop, ok, let’s go mommmy, let’s skip and hop!” Let’s just say I didn’t feel much like skippin and hoppin today, so I told her we’d do it another time. Fortunately she was ok with that, we had a good night, lately she has been so much fun.

We have been trying to get her to stay in her bed at night and have created a calendar where she can place stickers in the morning if she has obeyed the rules and stayed in bed. Today she got to get a guitar from the thrift store, one she has been wanting because she has done well for several nights in a row. After she gets the thing she yells over and over, “See my tar daddy, see, see my tar Owen, that’s my tar Owen you can’t play with it.” I say “Barney says share honey, why don’t you let your brother see it for a minute.” She looks at me with utter disbelief as if to say, how could she pull the Barney card like that, as if the Barney share idea does not apply to her having to share. So that is a work in progress.

Mesha has her first dive meet tomorrow for Liberty High swim and dive team. The first two have been cancelled and we are hoping this doesn’t. She looks pretty slick in her new warm-ups, she’s diving varsity, we couldn’t be prouder.

DSCN8007.JPG

Stephan wearing Mesha’s hat, making his funny face. :-}

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

