Candy, Socks, and Jesus

EE8D528A-B532-4E31-9866-0FD900345C99.jpg
Yesterday Emerie and I did a lot of baking and candy making. She was so excited to help and get her hands into and onto things. It is a big test of my patience and I love to see her having fun but I never realized how hard it is to manage a toddler/little girl in the kitchen. She is way too smart for her own good.

We were making candy when she said, “Mommy, do you know somebody birthday at Christmas time?” I am busy stirring toffee and thinking about what to do next and answered quickly, “Yes, Uncle Chad was born at Christmas time.” Then she said, “No mommy, Jesus was born at Christmas time.” Talk about a humbling moment…I said, “Oh my, yes you are right, it is Jesus’ birthday at Christmas time.” She continues to talk about how Jesus was in everyones heart and how we are going to Grandpa’s house for Christmas and how he is going to read the Jesus book before we open gifts. Then she said something sweet, “Mommy Jesus is in my heart, and he is in my tummy too, at night he is in my tummy and helps me sleep when I am scared.” I thought that was adorable.

She has been talking a lot about the Jesus book lately, I guess she is learning that it is a part of our lives. She had my bible the other day, she told us she was reading it because it had the instructions on how to make a clubhouse out of socks. She had her sisters argile socks in one hand and was “reading” the bible out loud as if to be reading the clubhouse instructions, then would walk back to her clubhouse area, and back to the book and so on. I guess if the bibe can teach a little girl how to play and Jesus can help her when she is scared at night maybe I can start trusting him a little more in my life too…

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, God stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Candy, Socks, and Jesus

  1. ladonnamobile says:

    Amazing how profound the innocent little spirits can be! Talk about “out of the mouths of babes . . . ”

    Thanks for sharing this gem!

    Like

  2. mesha says:

    ok
    since your mad that no one is commenting you on this story and you requested that i read it, i will leave a comment: it was really cool

    Like

  3. rolandapete says:

    I am not mad, I just wanted you to read it and leave a comment if you so desired…:-)

    Like

  4. Stephan says:

    We must be doing something right.

    Like

  5. Harold says:

    GREAT inspiration to all.
    Think about how God has used this little precious little angel to show the lost parents how to find God in the little things. I hope that we can all pray for the lost parents of this insightly blesses little girl.

    Ps. Just kidding on the lost parents thing, they have been found.

    _Austin

    Like

Respond

