The Gratitudes…

Photobucket

Christmas and the holiday season bring about many feelings of gratefulness, for this moment, this day, here is my list:

5. My home. It is cold outside and we have shelter, we have heat, a washer and dryer, a comfortable bed and clean sheets. We have a stove to make hot food and beautiful Christmas tree. Now, and at Christmas time, I am grateful to have such extreme luxuries. I know that to many people a home may not be considered a luxury, but I am convinced that it is. I heard someone say today that they were watching a documentary on television about people in Mexico who use “Americans”, trashed garage doors to build their houses/shelters.

4. Employment. Not just the state of being employed but having a job that my husband and I enjoy is truly a blessing. Over the past few years the unemployment thing has hit close to home, several friends and family members have either been unemployed or hated their job. It is something I think many of us take for granted. I thank God that we have an income to take care of our family and pay our bills.

3. My children. I want to kiss my babies everyday, babies being all three of them. I love my job but unfortunately it can, on occasion, make one very aware of the possibilities of accidents and illness that could befall our precious children. Every time I hear the Viacom calling to report on a seriously ill child, or child that has been involved in an accident I hold my breath. Every moment is precious, every day a blessing, every kiss and hug meaningful. My goal is to put down the redundant tasks that I engage in on a daily basis and just spend more quality time with them, to be grateful for, and bask in every moment.

2. My husband. Relationships can be hard, learning to share, get along, and basically co-exist can seem easy but is probably one of the hardest things we as married people will ever do. Having said that, I am grateful for the relationship that I have with Stephan. We have our days but at the end of each one I know that he has my back. He is fun, and funny, he is kind and generous, and loves me more than I think I deserve to be loved some days. He is a servant and motivates me to be a better person. I am so glad that I found him, I don’t think they make many like him anymore. I am glad to have a partner that is like minded in our efforts in life, that wants to rise to the challenge of each new day and make great memories together.

1. The birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. In the midst of the hustle and bustle, I acknowledge Him, that He was born to die for me, born of a virgin in a dirty manger. It seems so easy to forget why we celebrate Christmas, all the shopping and cooking and running around, the parties and the gatherings, all the business can easily lends itself to a stressful season. Not to mention the fact that sometimes I think all the “gift-getting” can make one become greedy without even realizing it, thinking of what we might get, making lists for people, etc. This year and in years to come I desire to make Him the real reason for the season, to make an event out of putting the star on top of that tree, to be sincere about reading that passage before we open gifts, to make it our purpose to “give” the way He gave. To love the way He loves.

Merry Christmas and Godspeed

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, God stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Gratitudes…

  1. Melody says:

    Rolanda,
    I have been reading your blog for a few weeks now and have to say this is one of my favorites. We all have so much to be grateful for but sometimes get so caught up in the hustle and bustle we loose sight of what we have. I have had a rough year but I believe I have been given this year to remind of who I have in my life and what I have. There were many times I felt like I had nothing but I had to go through that to make me realize I have so much…I had been getting a little caught up in having things. Now I know it’s not having the things you want it’s being happy with what you have. I just might have to start my own blog in the New Year-which is going to be the year for Melody and doing things for myself!! You have shown me how cool it can be and it looks fun.
    Merry Christmas and see you soon at work
    Mel

    Like

  2. rolandapete says:

    Thanks Mel. The entire purpose for writing this segment on gratitude was to help me find the things in life I didn’t always see. I wanted to start living in a state of gratefulness. I, like you, have found it so easy to loose sight of the fragile things, the things that mean so much, but we don’t even take time to acknowledge. It has helped me keep a little more focused. Thanks so much for your comment.

    Like

  3. mom says:

    So, mesha says to leave a comment so you won’t get mad. so here it is….”neat”

    Like

  4. rolandapete says:

    Mesha is funny, like funny ha ha. But thanks for leaving a comment 🙂

    Like

  5. karen says:

    I love your very thankful attitude. It’s very challenging!

    Like

Respond

