Mesha turns 15!

DSCN8135.JPGDSCN8136_2.JPGDSCN8138.JPGDSCN8139.JPGDSCN8147.JPG

This past weekend we celebrated Meshas 15th birthday. I can’t believe that 15 years ago I was a mother for the first time. Wow, how time flies. She has made me so proud and we are so blessed by her every day. Here are a few random pics we took after we went out for dinner. We took her and a few friends to Japanese Steak House. We had a good time, my brother and his wife were there, Stephan’s brother Randy and his wife Natalia, and my Dad was there. Everyone but Alana tried to catch shrimp, she just screamed several times:-) Mesha caught the most though, Stephan trained her well.

She has a good group of friends, they are all pretty close. We have them over a lot and they keep us young. Mesha has made some pretty good choices in her friends and I am so proud of her for it.

She has recently begum to seriously consider what she wants to do when she grows up. They had to register for sophomore classes this week so she had to make some choices. She loves science, so she decided to skip an elective next year and take biology and chemistry. This is something she and her science teacher worked out. She also has taken spanish since 7th grade, so she will be able to continue with it, and her senior year spanish will count as college credit. I think next year will be a tough year, but I think she is ready for it.

There was an line on her encore form that asked the students to write in their career path. She was getting ready to write the following before I stopped her:

Spy, like James Bond, in the early years not like James Bond now, the ones where he used the little ropes to slide down things, or volcanologist, paleontologist, missionary to other countries, biologist, veterinarian, maybe nurse or teacher.

She was basically going to write down what she had told her teacher in a meeting with him about choosing classes and career chioces. Most of the things she wants to be when we talk, are usually directly related to something she has seen on tv. I told her she needed to be an actress, so she could, in a way, get to do all of the crazy things she says she wants to do. She poo-poo’d that idea pretty quickly, though she has taken drama for two years in a row, she says it is only to get over her fear of public speaking. I think she needs to investigate singing, voice, etc. The girl can belt out a tune and knock your socks off if your lucky enough to be around when she’ll do it. But every time I suggest choir or choral she winces and gets an attitude on me. She says, “MOM, I DO NOT WANT TO DO THAT, that type of singing is exactly the opposite of anything I want to do!” Then she says she may consider some singing lessons, at that point I have usually given up and drop the subject.

So, for right now, we have her narrowed down to Biology/Spanish major, possibly music(viola), then she can either teach Biology or use it for the medical filed. Right now I think she is leaning towards teaching Biology.

Below is a video she and her friends made that night, I think is was supposed to be a rap, but it turned out more like a freak show, but they had a great time making it. 🙂

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mesha turns 15!

  1. mommyrulz says:

    Happy Birthday Mesha!!

    Um, one question though….why were you guys in the laundromat? Did your dryer break?

    Like

  2. rolandapete says:

    No just thought it would be an obscure place for some photos of them;-)

    Like

Respond

