It is finished!

Well, time to update. I have been a little preoccupied with our current home improvement project, painting our bed and bath. The master bedroom has had a very traditional custom interior decor of navy blue and maroon paisleys since we moved here. While I can appreciate the work that the former owners put into it, every day has been an ache in my stomach with the desire to annihilate it. From the custom window treatments to the meticulously placed border in the bedroom, bath, and shower room, I have loathed every inch of the style reminiscent of the early 90’s. So, about a month or so ago, we finally started to begin the process of taping, removing border, and painting. Stephan and I have had some interesting interactions during this process, but in the end, I think it has be a good experience of learning how to play nice, how not to play nice, and when to just shut up and paint. I think I may have pushed a little hard with wanting to do some decorative striping in the bedroom with neither of us being experienced in that. At one point I thought I was going to repaint the bath because I didn’t like the color but then it grew on me so I left it. Needless to say I don’t think anyone is happier than my husband that it is done. We still have some fixtures to change out and new window treatments to put up but the painting is done, and that was the part I most feared.

Mesha came in 16th at the State Diving Championships, she was one of two freshmen that made it to the finals. We are very proud of her. She is doing well in school and a great job managing her busy schedule. She has started track season and continues to dive with the Liberty Twisters. I get tired just thinking about her life.

The little ones just got their first official haircuts a a barber shop down the street. Owen was rocking his little God-given mullet but it was time to let it go. He looks so grown up now, like a little man. Emerie just got a trim, her hair was almost touching her bottom when it was wet. We had to constantly braid it or keep it up to prevent it from catching a days worth of food and other particles. We only got a few inches taken off and she was so excited. Here are a few pics…

DSCN8191.JPGDSCN8203.JPGDSCN8206.JPG

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

