Two beautiful women, two very different birthday’s…

DSCN8093.JPG
Bryce & Mom Sept 07.JPG

First of all, Happy Birthday to two of my favorite people in the whole wide world, my mother and my sister. I wanted to give them both a shout out and let them know I love them both and wish we could have spent the day together.

For most of my life I have gotten their birthday’s confused. My mom’s is on March 16th, and my sister’s is on March 14th. And try as I might, I always, without fail, struggle to remember. Usually they don’t realize it, because I figure it out before I call, but this year I thought I was slick. For Christmas we made my Dad and Step-mom a family calendar with birthday’s etc. So I simply went into iPhoto where I created the calendar, opened it up and went to March, there plain as day on March 16th was Kim’s beautiful face with the type, “Kim’s Birthday!” I was a little confused because I thought I had made up a little riddle to help me remember that went like this; Mom is older than Kim, but her birthday comes before on a smaller number, there birth-days are opposite of their age. I know, it sounds ridiculous but that is what I was going by and wanted to check the calender, just in case.

So, without hesitation, I picked up the phone and rang my Mom, expecting her to be excited to get my call, not that my call would be surprising because we talk everyday, sometimes twice a day. I just expected her voice to be merrier being her birthday and all. Not a hint of glee was in her voice, just the usual, cheerful, “Hello.” I began to panic, maybe I was right and it wasn’t her birthday, maybe it was Kim’s birthday, I almost froze but then decided it would be worse for me to get off the phone without saying happy birthday if it was, then she would think I forgot completely, and it was too late to hang up. (Though I considered it) I said, “Whatcha doing?”, to which she replied, “Oh, nothing.” “Well, what have you got planned for your special day?” ( Who says that? Don’t most people just come out and say Happy Birthday?) She says, “Hmmm, nope nothing planned, special day, what do you mean?” I then went on and on about my confusion and apologized to no end. I then quickly called my sister.

Ok, here is my admission of utter and complete lack of consideration for the special days of those I love. It took me a few years to remember my husband’s birthday and I still close my eyes and hope every time I say it. I never, ever remember my Dad and step-mom’s anniversary, except for their 25th, that was a few years back. I am awful with my best friends birthday, I am pretty sure it is in Dec, but then again it may be in Sept. So I am going to choose this day to resolve to write everyone’s birthday down, and remember them. For heaven’s sake my husband works for Hallmark Cards. Sitting here on my desk is a card organizer with a calender in it so you can write the dates down. I have no excuse.

If you are one of my friends or family that has been affected by this, please except my apologies, I’m going to get better, I promise. And by the way, HAPPY EASTER, wait, I think that is next Sunday 🙂

Photobucket

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two beautiful women, two very different birthday’s…

  1. rolandapete says:

    I guess it adds insult to injury but sorry Mom and Dad, the calendar I made is wrong, guess you knew that though. Well, mom knew that, not so sure about Dad, I didn’t just make this affliction up ya know. I got it from somewhere:-)

    Like

Respond

