Just plain ornery

DSCN8282.JPG

DSCN8280.JPG

Little did I know that my freshly painted bedroom walls doubled as a chalk board. When I saw this toddler art that my son made this morning I let out a yelp like an injured dog. Then I realized that it was chalk and it could probably be cleaned pretty easily, so I took a quick pic. Luckily I was right, it was very easy to clean.

Owen is all boy and really giving us a run for our money. He is not the best sleeper so far. Lately he has been waking up in the night and when we go in his room he says, “Go! Milk!” with his arms outstretched. He wants us to take him in the kitchen and warm him up some milk, and most times we do, just because we know it’s five minutes to a usual guaranteed five more hours of sleep. This is not good, because we have created a monster. He was sleeping through the night and then here in the past few weeks he started waking again. The other kicker, to Stephan’s chagrin, is that he wants “Daddy”, not momma to get and give the milk. How do I rate? I guess it’s ok though, it’s usually only in the middle of the night that he specifically wants Daddy. I guess I will continue to humbly bow out and let him be the preferred parent at 2 am, and I am all torn up about it on the inside…

We are also dealing with a little bit of the aggressive nature that goes with boys. I never noticed Emerie being so rough. Owen likes to jump on Emerie, pull her hair, and roughhouse with her. She is a screamer so when he takes something that is hers, she gets in his face and screams a blood curdling scream, then he looks at her with disbelief and hauls off and whacks her in the face. This is quite a show, believe me, and most of the time I feel like a referee that drones on and on about “soft touches.”

So, if you have any words of wisdom, feel free to pass them on. I have to mention with all of the above challenging situations he really is a lovely child. He is a cuddle bug, something Emerie wasn’t at that age. He loves to kiss and hug and be read to. He is a sweet boy, but exactly that, he is all boy, but we love him and we’ll probably decide to keep him in the end:-)

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just plain ornery

  1. Stephan says:

    Yeah, I’m fine with him going back to being a momma’s boy. I do want to keep him though. Well, at least until they take the tax deduction away. 😉

    Like

  2. Grandma says:

    Boys do crazy things. Charlie Rose has been showing up on his program with a bandaid and black eye. Tripped in a pothole and decided to save his new mac book air before himself.

    Like

  3. rolandapete says:

    I guess in reality we are suckers and he knows how to work us.

    And as for Charlie Rose, if Stephan had to choose between a black eye and destroying his mac book air, if he had one, you better believe he’d be sporting a shiner…

    Like

  4. Stephan says:

    Let’s start small. Buy me an iPhone for Father’s Day and we’ll see. Try to trip me and see what happens. 🙂

    Like

  5. Grandma says:

    A friend brought over his walmart hp 600 dollar laptop the other day to show me, it seemed so cheap somehow, compared to my MacBook. I’d save my laptop and get a shiner, but I wouldn’t save his. Never thought I’d become a computer elitist. I’m still waiting for Stephan to get me an apple decal for my car.

    Like

  6. Stephan says:

    Grandma, didn’t know you wanted one. I have tons of them. Remind me next time you’re down this way.

    Like

Respond

