Old-school MD vs. Bad bedside manner?

I took Mesha to the doctor for a common teenage problem the other day. Nothing big, I won’t tell you the speciality because it may be giving too much information with regard to his privacy, but it was a little disturbing.

First of all, as soon as we walked in, I got a weird vibe. The office was unusually small, and the decor was no kidding, circa 1978, 1980 at best. It wasn’t traditional 1980’s either, it was trendy 1980’s. Very worn, very interesting. All the patient charts were located on a wall behind the receptionist, all of them. Some of the charts were leaning against the bookshelf kinda like wilted flowers, no organization system seemed apparent other than alphabetical, again, interesting. As I was filling out paper work, I asked Mesha to read the kids a book and suddenly we were distracted by a loud clicking noise. For a moment I tried to assess the sound to discern it, that is when my ever so discreet daughter exclaims, “Is that a type-writer?” It was painfully obvious they were running things old-school up in there🙂

When we were taken back to the exam room I was eager with anticipation. After all, I love antiques and was sure to see some vintage medical equipment. What I didn’t expect was to see bloody instruments. bloody cotton balls in a basin, open medication bottles, and a used syringe and gloves. Yuck! And the blood from the cotton balls looked old and dark brown.

Have you ever had an experience like this? If so tell me about it. I will close by saying that the doctor was very nice, very cordial, and didn’t seem to notice the mess on the table. He gave Mesha a huge bag full of samples that will last her a very long time. I am still undecided about returning. Check the Magnum PI pics I took in the office below. What do you think???

14-04-08_1612.jpg14-04-08_1611.jpg

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old-school MD vs. Bad bedside manner?

  1. Melody says:

    EEWW…GROSS!!!!

    Like

Respond

