Black Oak block party!

Our neighborhood had a block party this evening and what a great time we all had. We had about half the block show up and a few neighbors from surrounding streets as well. The kids had a great time and everyone was glad to come out and say hello. We had lots of getting to know you going on and I think we’re going to make it something we do at least once a month. Before tonight there were several of us that didn’t even know each others names. One afternoon a few neighbors and I were talking and thought it was a shame that we all didn’t hang out more, and the block party idea was born. It’s good to get to know your neighbors:-) We even had 89 year old Carlos come by for some food and fellowship. As I was tucking Emerie into bed tonight and she was saying her prayers she said, “And God, please help us to have another block party again.” I’m not sure if it was the playing with friends or all the yummy treats that she liked more. Either way, I can’t wait to do it again!

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black Oak block party!

  1. Stephan says:

    Good times. I think Em would be fine with having a block party every night. Like you, I still can’t tell if it was the playing or the food. I wonder if the city can just give us our own set of “bear traps”.

    Like

  2. Grandma says:

    Just checked the blog…thought maybe u were reporting on a second block party…

    Like

Respond

