Flip flops, McDonalds, and the dog.

Today was a funny day. This morning was like any other, got up, made the kids breakfast, Mesha is usually running by that time so I didn’t really miss her. We ran errands, had lunch at McDonalds and visited with some friends while the kids played, nap time came and went as usual.

Then 5 o’clock comes and the weight of toddler and preschooler aged whining and fit throwing began to feel heavy on my shoulders. I look at the clock once again, 5:30, I breathe a sigh of relief knowing that I am only minutes away from a life preserver, Stephan should be walking through that door any minute.

Wait! Stephan is in San Francisco working very hard at standing in long lines at WWDC and feasting on fine cuisine. My heart sank, then lightened again, Mesha should be home soon. But alas, I quickly remembered she was gone as well and it was just me… and them. (Theme song from “The Good, the Bad, and The Ugly” playing, you know the gunfight song, and believe me we have exactly one of each, I’ll let you decide who’s who).

So I loaded em’ both up and off we went to McDonalds, no not to eat, I’m not so hard up for playtime that I’ll eat MCD twice in one day. No, to retrive Emerie’s Dora flip flop that she must have accidentally dropped while getting into the van as we were leaving. The shoe is extremely important to her and I will elaborate on just how important, with a small excerpt of my afternoon:

Emerie is waking up from nap, I am smiling and telling her the neighbors are playing the trampoline, I am telling her this because it makes her happy and it is of upmost importance that she wakes up happy or it’s hell the rest of the day. What? Don’t believe me, come over sometime and spend an afternoon when she wakes up in a bad mood. Anyway, I digress. She was so happy running around half asleep when she realized we had lost her other Dora flip flop, 20 straight minutes of crying and tears, and whining. 20 straight minutes, no kidding, ask Renee, she heard it. Finally I called McDonalds, the manager went out into the parking lot and found the flippin’ flip flop, Thank you Jesus, and I’m not taking His name in vain, seriously, Thank you Jesus.

After retrieving the shoe we went to Wal-Mart for some fathers day supplies and a little wine for mom. We stop by MCD again to get a movie I won’t have time to watch at the Redbox, “The Jane Austin Book Club”, anybody seen it? If so tell me about it, I seriously don’t think I’ll have time to watch it. As I was renting the movie I had the van pulled up right beside the box with the windows rolled down for the kids and the dog. When I got back in the car I instinctively rolled up the windows and cranked up the air. As I am rolling up the passenger side window I notice something odd in my periphery. I look over and my dog is hanging by his neck with his head out the window, body squirming. Oops. I quickly rolled the window down much to his relief and he gave me a pissy dog look. Sorry Oliver. No harm, no foul right;-)

It’s gonna be a long week.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flip flops, McDonalds, and the dog.

  1. Stacey says:

    Isn’t that exactly how it goes! Never just one thing, and always drama!

    Like

  2. Stephan says:

    Wish I was there to help out. Sorry you’re having such a rough time. BTW, the cuisine isn’t as fine as you might believe. It’s nice to eat on someone else’s dime, but I’m not eating at 4-start restaurants. 🙂

    Like

  3. It’s fine, just monotonous at times. The mom’s night out last night helped though;-) You should have seen Renee Harper, they really broke the mold with her I tell ya!

    Like

Respond

