A little funny

Last night Emerie had her first non-familial sleep over. They went to bed about 9 pm, I got them all settled into her princess tent and 2 1/2 hours later we get this…

DSCN9318.JPG

They ended up in the bed, not the tent. They came out of the room about, oh, 20 times at least. Complaints and/or concerns included, but were not limited to, bears, ghosts, noises, monsters, urination requests, lighting adjustments, bedroom door adjustments, and insomnia. Seriously, there were more, I just can’t remember them all. Finally, when I had just about had it, I found them asleep, and they slept until 7:30 am this morning, not too bad for a first sleepover.

We met Kaley’s mom Stacey, and her little sister Lexi, at McDonalds for lunch today. That was fun. Not. Owen has grown enough that he can climb into the dank, dark, cavernous, mystery that is McDonald’s play place. He was having a good time until he got stuck up near the very top. He began to cry, then really loudly cry, just short of scream, for quite some time. I was able to maintain eye-contact by standing on a chair and gently told him to just go on down the slide/(screamed at Emerie to help him). But to my dismay he just continued to cry while I stood there on my perch doing everything I could to coerce him down. Finally, some man yells, “Mamm, do you want me to go up and get him”? To this I replied, “No thank you, he’ll be fine”, knowing full well this was my cue that I needed to go in and retrive him. Society had had enough and was willing to put a stop to the drama to the point of asking a complete stranger if she wanted him to rescue her son. Ok, I get it, I said to myself, I need to go in. Thankfully Stacey had her spelunking equipment and I was able to get up into the nooks and cranny’s without event.

Then there’s that.

We are all safe at home now, kids have been put down for naps and I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my sister and her family. They are coming for the holiday weekend and should be here tomorrow night. Yeah!

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, humor, life, motherhood, random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little funny

  1. Stephan says:

    Ugh. I’ve been worried about Owen when it to comes to the Play Place at McD’s. He’s physically capable and is big for his age, but at only 25 months I think he’s not quite ready to handle it mentally. Sounds like he got scared and wasn’t sure what to do. Poor guy.

    Sorry you had such a rough day…

    Like

  2. Oh, no I didn’t mean I had a bad day, just par for the course. It was actually pretty funny, just ask Stacey and the employees of McDonalds.

    Like

Respond

