Geneva Madison (Scott), God rest her soul…

PC230879.jpg

The above photo is of my Great Aunt Geneva. She passed away early Sunday morning. Geneva was one of my Grandfather’s nine sisters. One of the best things about Geneva is the way she said your name. Every time she saw me she would look at me and tilt her head to the side and exclaim, “Rolanda Raye!”, then she would take your face in her hands and give you a huge kiss on the cheek. I suspect this is the way she greeted all her kin, but it always made me feel so special.

Another thing about her that was interesting, was her resolute commitment to journaling. A few years ago she realized that the journal she had been using for quite some time, The Daily Aide, had gone out of print. She panicked at the thought of having to find a new journal to use, she knew she wanted red, hard bound, with a calendar. We were able to find her some at Office Depot, not the Daily Aide, but very close. She couldn’t believe how expensive they’d gotten over the years. She had me buy several of them for her and her sisters. I will never forget how relieved she was. She had accumulated about 50 years worth of journals. I bet they have some stories to tell.

She absolutely loved Air Bud movies. I wrote a blog about her and her obsession with air bud, click here to read.

And one last story. Many times she would take friends and relatives on errands around town. She wasn’t always feeling that great or looking so-hot, but would graciously do so anyway. This particular day she took a friend, Georgie, to Hy-Vee and opted to stay in the car while she ran in to get some groceries. Geneva leaned against the door and had decided to take a little cat-nap, to maximize on her wait time. When she woke she was startled to see several people including Hy-Vee employees gathered around her car starring in at her. Apparently, they thought she may have passed away there in the parking lot, and were investigating the situation further to decide what to do next. She told my mom about it and they had a good laugh. We always chuckle when we talk about that story:-)

She will be greatly missed, rest in peace Aunt Geneva. Below is the poem she wanted read at her funeral…

When I’m Gone
by Mrs.Lyman Hancock

When I come to the end of my journey
And I travel my last weary mile
Just forget if you can, that I ever frowned
And remember only the smile

Forget unkind words I have spoken
Remember some good I have done
Forget that I ever had heartache
And remember I’ve had loads of fun

Forget that I’ve stumbled and blundered
And sometimes fell by the way
Remember I have fought some hard battles
And won, ere the close of the day

Then forget to grieve for my going
I would not have you sad for a day
But in summer just gather some flowers
And remember the place where I lay

And come in the shade of evening
When the sun paints the sky in the west
Stand for a few moments beside me
And remember only my best

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Geneva Madison (Scott), God rest her soul…

  1. Grandma says:

    Another note on her journals…once in a while within this past year, I would stop over and she said she had been up in the night and wrote in her journal…she would make me look at her entry…a bunch of squiggles…and say “Can you read that? I can’t!” We tried and tried to figure out what she’d written in the middle of the night.

    Wow, that would be really cool to see what it was she had written…too bad.

    Like

Respond

