Em and exercise…

Yesterday, I was squeezing in a quick workout before I had to head off to a meeting at work, when Emerie decided to act a fool. Owen was napping and she quickly decided to get in on the action and assumed a position next to me on the floor. It was a tough work out taught by the one and only, biggest loser trainer, “Jillian,” basically 30 minutes of hell, and if the plank position kicks don’t kill you the power squats will. She keeps saying, if you want a 27 minute work out to burn lots of calories you’ve got to work really hard.

Anyway, here’s Em laying down saying, “Whew, mom these are hard”, and I’m like, “yep, they sure are.” After about 5-10 minutes of selective exercise she stands up and states, “Ok, mom let’s turn this show off now, it’s time for my show, I don’t like this one any more!” To which I reply, “Emerie, mommy is almost done, I’ll put your show on in a few…(huff puff gasp) minnnn…utessss, ugh, sigh.” Next thing I know, the t.v. just shuts off, mid crunch, I turn around and there she is holding the remote smiling as big as can be. Now I probably should have taken this as a sign from God that my workout was over and given in…NOT. That little stinker threw a fit when I turned it back on and continued to throw a fit until she got time out, twice.

I tell ya, she’s so much like her father;-)

The biggest loser is turning out to be a good show. This is my first time really watching it and the stories are heart wrenching. This yellow team is going to be a force to be reckoned with.

Well, the kids are asleep and I am tired. We took the kids swimming tonight after my workout at the community center and it has been a full day. I watched Peter and Ember and had to keep Owen from hurting that little guy all day. Peter is 19 months old and Owen is 26 months old. Owen is not aggressive at church or parents day out, and he’s not aggressive at the community center. But here, in our home, he is a roughneck thug! He is so mean to Peter, and Peter is so cute and sweet, except to the dog, it reminds me of the food chain the way these boys act. I have tried everything from time out to lots of praise when he’s nice, to a good old fashioned wallop on the butt. I can’t leave them alone for fear he will really hurt Peter. My sweet little son reminds me of Macaulay Culkin in the “The Good son”. Ugh, if you any advice, please, feel free.

Goodnight.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Em and exercise…

  1. Grandma says:

    Maybe Sonny Boy just can’t have company yet until he grows out of it, he’s territorial, he somehow has that alpha dog thing going on with only boys. He knows how to act in other territories, but his house and his stuff is his, another boy is threatening. His vocabulary and little brain isn’t ready to understand the acceptable way to act. And poor little Peter is getting the brunt of his aggressions. They call it the terrible twos for a reason.

    Like

  2. Grandma says:

    Oh yeah! I think I’ve heard or read that these aggressive tendencies might indicate that he could be leader material…!?

    Like

  3. As always, participants put all their efforts to losing as much weight, as they can. They reach for their goals under the supervision of two professional trainers – Jillian and Bob.As both trainers have their advantages, whose disciple will win the show? http://www.votetheday.com/tv-15/the-biggest-loser-families-288

    Like

  4. savvyprchick says:

    I love the Biggest Loser! I’ve decided myself to start getting fit again on Monday.

    Your blog came up on my tag surfer as one that I might be interested in. I’m starting a 14 week exercise program on Monday and am looking to try to get an online community together to join in. It’s free (seriously, just walking and stuff in your own neighborhood) and it starts out really easy. I think most people can do it.

    If you are interested, check out my blog at Fit in 14

    Like

  5. Joanna says:

    You go girl! I am proud of you…exercising and laying down the law with the little one. Easy to say, but hard to do. Keep up the good work…I will get there soon. It is hard to get my mind around exercise….it is a mental thing with me. I know I can do it, but will I?!

    Like

  6. Joanna says:

    Oh! I forgot to mention….I love the bigger loser show. That is what motivated me last year to start eating better which led me to lose weight. Very inspiring to watch actual people live the experience of a weight lose journey instead of seeing just the before and after pics that so many quick weight loss programs puts up. Big fan of the show and you!!

    Like

Respond

