brain purge…

So I made it to the gym this morning. The odds were stacked against me though. Emerie and Owen were both very ornery, I couldn’t get my ipod to sync and that alone is enough to put me right over the edge. What else, I can’t recall everything that happened but it took us an hour to get out of the house.

Once there, I found myself settling in nicely to the set list and plugging away at a 15 incline for 8 minutes, walk for 2, run for 2, and repeat until I reach 40 minutes. Then 20 minutes on weights. Here is my set list right now:

drama queen- family force five
glamorous- fergie
shut up and drive- rihanna
clumsy- fergie
loose control- missy elliot
best of you- foo fighters
the pretender- foo fighters
lose yourself- eminem (only if I am having a particularly hard time pushing myself, I tell Stephan it’s the “eye of the tiger” for gen x’ers)

It’s amazing how much better my workouts are with my favorite music.

Ok, anyway, I took a shower at the community center today, what a novel idea! I thought to myself, “self, you can go to target smelling like yesterday’s nachos, or you can use the amenity called “child care”, and take a relaxing shower rather than fighting a 2 year old later. So the choice was an obvious one, I loaded up my black and hot pink vintage 80’s Sassoon bag and it was on. I had worked up and amazing sweat and was headed off to the shower when I noticed lots of little old feet in the showers, and two senior citizens gals in line. Uh, didn’t plan to be done with my workout right as water aerobics ended. So I am standing there, surveying the situation when I notice that the extra large handi-cap stall at the end is empty. So, cautiously, casually, I mention to the little lady next to me, who is supporting her weight with a walker mind you, that the last stall is open, to which she replies,” Well I don’t use that kind, that’s for disabled people.” Hmmm, ok, I guess at that age maybe the walker is just an accessory so I headed that way. Another lady standing there also said she does not use that kind of shower, so I jumped in. I wonder if that was akin to parking in a hand-cap spot? I did mention to them that if they saw any disabled people come in that needed the shower to let me know and that I would hop right out. Strange. Anyway, it was the roomiest shower I have had in the place. But I forgot my brush. Needless to say I was a nappy headed, non nacho smelling, invigorated guest at Target this afternoon. Oh, well, I am really beyond caring what people think. I love that place, it’s a little bit of heaven.

I am loving this weather, time to get out my MU hoodie and rock the tigers pride.

Next on my list…gratitude.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to brain purge…

  1. peckedtodeath says:

    OMG – you are so cracking me up 🙂 Glad you made it to work out and to Target – that’s my dream day!!!

    Like

Respond

