The Harper’s…

gogh.self-orsay.jpg

I am watching my friends daughter today, her name is Abby. I watch her on Wednesdays and Fridays, she is a sweet little go with the flow kind of gal, she says what she thinks and many times it is funny. I have to write a few things about the Harper’s today, because both times I really laughed out loud, it had to do with them.

The first time we were at the park. Emerie noticed a bird and said, “Look mom, a bird, it’s a hawk!” Then Owen starts pointing and saying, “Hawk, Hawk!” Well, it just so happened that we were having a little picnic, and Owen had his string cheese in his hand while he was pointing. Abby watched him for several seconds as he continued to point with the cheese. Finally, Abby breaks her silence and with a corrective voice she looks at Owen and says, “Owen! Hawks don’t eat string cheese, they eat…bird food, seeds!” Owen just glared back at her and went on eating and pointing. I thought it was funny. Something he definitely needs to know:-)

Then later Emerie gets her card from Grandma. Emerie and Grandma send cards back in forth in the mail and chat about it on the phone. Today Emerie’s card featured the self portrait of Vincent van Gough, as pictured above. When she opened the card she just kind of sat there staring at it, not sure what to make of it, when Grandma, via the phone, tried to explain to her what the picture was. After a few minutes, as if to show Grandma she “got it“, I said, “Emerie, tell Grandma who that picture is of.” To which she paused, looked at it again for a moment, and very matter of factly declared, “ED.”

Ed is Renee’s husband, and yes, there is a resemblance:-)
DSCN9348_2.JPG

Per Abby, Ed makes one heck of a smiley face pancake, and I know firsthand that he is great with cars, an artist in his own right…

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, humor, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Harper’s…

  1. Grandma says:

    I noticed you are on “Pecked to Death”s list of friends she tagged to list 7 quirks. I share her preference for a favorite “spot.” Emmie knows where Grandma’s spot is. I only like Pepsi though, but I only drink maybe one a month but it HAS to be Pepsi. I can’t think of too many quirks that u have, maybe spelling “lose” as “loose.” Maybe making faces at people in the car next to u if u think they’re staring at you. Hey, blog that story, that was so funny…!

    Like

Respond

