The power of a forward…

Ok, people, let’s get real. Yesterday, I am at Bed Bath and Beyond, when this lady at the checkout is telling a very detailed story to the cashier. When the lady leaves, the cashier looks at us and says, “Did you hear that story she was telling?” At this point, she quickly sums up the story of how a child was at Sams Club with their mother, disappeared, they called a lockdown of the store, and find the child hunkered down in a bathroom stall with her head half shaven, different clothes, and a wig lying next to her on the floor…It all sounds very Hollywood to me, scary, but a little far fetched. Oh yeah, the lady heard the story from a very good friend via, email. I checked this story out today by searching in google: child-kidnapping-shaved head, and snopes came back the first hit… citing the story as false.

click here to read snopes

I get lots of these types of stories, it seems surprising how many people will forward a story without checking it out. I guess there is no real harm in the story itself, just put the words, “great fiction email” in the subject line and delete the part at the top that says;

“TRUE STORY!! MY BROTHER’S, GIRLFRIEND’S, COUSIN’S, NEIGHBOR WENT TO THE SAME CHURCH AS THE DISTANT RELATIVES THAT HEARD THE FIRST ACCOUNT OF THIS STORY, FROM THE WITCH DOCTOR THAT CAME TO THEIR TOWN WITH THE TRAVELING CIRCUS!”

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The power of a forward…

  1. Grandma says:

    Hey, I just forwarded a prayer to nine different people and at nine o’clock tomorrow I will finally meet Mr. Right and you will have that stepdaddy you always wanted. So there.

    Like

  2. johnseeking says:

    I didn’t forward it, and my head is supposed to fall off any time n…

    *gurgle*

    *thud*

    Like

  3. ro says:

    LOL about both comments

    Like

Respond

