Christmas with the Winder’s

So here we are all held up at the Winder ranch in south Missouri. We have my mom and dad, grandma and grandpa, my family, my sister  and her family, my brother and his wife, and my little brother Matt who escapes the madness each night and retires in style in his new home on the other side of town.  

Usually we play games, sacrifice ourselves to the junk-food gods, and otherwise step all over each other for a couple four days and have a good ol’ time,  but last night somehing interesting happened…We went to my little brothers new digs and can I just say I am a little resentful that my parents basicly: bought him a house, gutted it, refurnished and painted it, and then decorated it with a style even the coolest hipster would settle for. When I was his age, I had an apartment furnished with all the finer things I could purchase from local garage sales. But I guess he’s not the baby for nothing, did I mention he’s the only one who sill gets Christmas presents from them, hmmm. No hard feelings though, it’s all good. (Dad if your reading this you should be wiping tears from your eyes right now, we’ll take that Hawaiian vacation in the spring)

Anyway, my brother has this game, it’s called Rock Band, and I have to say that playing it was the highlight of my night, of course I only sang, but I really felt like, standing there in his living room, singing, “White Wedding”, by Billy Idol, that I had found myself, that my purpose in life was coming to fruition, that I was meant for this. I am really not sure where it will take me, if I can make a living on it or even if I can find an appropriate medium other than my own living room with which to express my craft, but I do know that we will be purchasing this game, and it will happen soon. I haven’t let my husband in on the plan but I am sure he will go along with my desires 100%, he’s artsy like that.

So tonight will be the first annual sibling party at Matt’s pad. We are leaving the kids at Grandma and Grandpa’s after dinner and heading over to the Bolivar metro-sexual geek chic crib for some good times. This is new for us, we may be coming home more often..

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas with the Winder’s

  1. First of all!
    …. it was fun

    Second, I put a CRAP ton of work into that house, and they are actually making money on renting it to me and my roommates not to mention the money that will be gained when they sell it.

    Last, everything in that house is mine. I paid for the furniture and the “style”.

    I love you sister, but I can’t have you dissin’ on me. It just wouldn’t be the “brotherly” thing to do. Ha!

    A’ight! I stand corrected…your right, the style was all you baby:-)
    Just kidding, props to you bud! I added your podcast to my blogroll, can you find it in your heart to forgive me?

    Like

  2. ro says:

    Ok, I was kind of being ornery, my parents did a lot for me when I was his age(and still do) if I tried to list it here I would be up all night and then some…

    Like

  3. ma winder says:

    tsk, tsk, is green your new color this year?

    Green is the new black, haven’t you heard?? Just kidding, it’s cool, I was just giving him a hard time!

    Like

Respond

