Here comes the pessimist…happy freakin’ New Year

Ok, I’m sorry, I don’t get it. Maybe it’s just where I’m at right now, but today feels like any other morning. I got up, made breakfast, and now I am drinking coffee. I always have this sad feeling when I watch the New Years apple drop, it seems more like a celebration of the year gone by and the music always makes me feel sad, you know that  Auld Lang Syne song…

I have some goals for this year, no resolutions though. I want to continue my path to accomplishing those goals but I don’t feel like today is the day I change my course, or make big changes. Sure, I hope this year is great, but I feel that this life is a journey, I can look back and find things to grow from and hope for continued growth in this new year and years to come. 

So I’m being kind of pessimistic, I know. The only time in my life I ever really had an amazing New Years Eve was when I was young and completely care free, it seems like a young persons holiday, the parties, the staying up late, etc. New Years Eve celebrations don’t give me the mom vibe, I just don’t feel the excitement, especially when I know that my kids are going to be getting up early and will want to be fed just like any other morning. They are not going to wake up and say to themselves, “Hey it’s New Years day, I’m gonna let mom sleep in, change my own pull-up, get my own breakfast, my new years resolution is going to be that I become more independent, and let mom sleep in more”. Nope, not gonna happen.

I think my theme for today will be this: Live everyday like it is my last, take in each moment and if the kids are doing something sweet and cute to stop, and savor it. I pledge to let my house go a little more in lieu of spending time with my family or taking care of myself by exercising. I will try so hard to be humble…even though it is hard for me sometimes…Oh geez, I think I just made a resolution:-)

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

