I love the rainy nights…

Had a complicated weekend, work was strange and wonderful all at the same time. Being a nurse isn’t always rewarding and fulfilling, and when working with kids sometimes it can be downright  sad. This Saturday night it was simply a bummer. I won’t and can’t go into detail, but after leaving my daughter Em crying because we gave away the kitten that afternoon, and dealing with some work issues, I was ready to hang up my nursing cap when I left that night.

After some much need rest, all felt right in the world again. I went back to work feeling refreshed and ready to “give-back” to the community. I have some great co-workers that I feel comfortable and safe talking to, that are very encouraging and kind. Thanks ladies… 

Tonight I pulled myself into Aiyannas class for a brutal beating and new outlook on life. Hard-core exercise is the best medicine I have ever given myself. It gives me energy, it gives me hope, it helps me sleep. After class I joined the ladies from moms club at Los Compos and SIX on the square. We had good conversation and lots of laughs. I love the fact that this amazing group of women and mothers have really bonded and I enjoy hanging out with them. I feel like we have our own little desperate housewives of Clay county group going…HA! It’s great.

Lastly I will say a few more things about Calvin Klein’s new ad in downtown Manhattan. It disgusts me. I am sickend by the lack of concern for America’s youth. I can guarantee you that a sweet little old lady isn’t running that ad campaign. There is nothing in that ad about wholesomeness, nothing about love, and everything that lacks integrity.

CK…if you wanna sell my daughter jeans, if you want my money, take down the sign. Put up an ad that shows teens huddled around xboxes and cheetos, girls standing at the ball field fence watching the boys hit in the winning run, jeans in a pile on the swimming pool deck and teens splashing in the neighborhood pool, how about wading in a creek with jeans rolled up catching craw-dads…CK, help my teens, help your teens, be the best they can be, let them be kids for a little bit longer, allow youth to bask and glow in the dog days of summer. Quit telling them they need to be sexually active to be cool…unless of course you are planning a raunchy maternity line. 

Click here to view the Ad

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

