Gratitude…

Have to start this again. Here are my top five:

5. My home. Lately we’ve been contemplating moving, we go back and forth on this, there are so many renovations we want to do here, the market being a good time to buy, feeling cramped…but alas, we have decided, once again, to stay put. Sometimes it’s hard not to look at what others have and want it, and I believe it’s good to work hard and have a nice life, but it’s easy to get caught in the cycle of, “more.”  It seems a bit like a disease to me, that cycle, and it feeds on itself until it becomes this huge growth on our souls that takes an act of God to remove it. I started to get on that ferris wheel, until I realized the carney working the ride was nowhere as cute as I had imagined from a distance. I am really feeling called to live a life content with less, to minimize the distractions, to just do life, more sincerely, more simply. I’m not there yet, but I have my eyes fixed on it, and it grows closer everyday.

4. My dog. He’s a sturdy, reliable little pup who loves me to death. He is soft and cuddly, and right now he’s not licking, which is a bonus. He was pretty anxious with our little foster kitten around, with places he couldn’t go and not being able to sit by me because the kitten was always looking for a teet on his tummy, that did not set well with him. He seems back to himself now, but I still miss kitty a bit. He is with an awesome family down the street who’s in love with him, it’s all good…

3. Excercise. Wow, it feels good… when it’s over. Don’t get me wrong, getting there is a pain in the arse. The beginning is usually pretty good, the middle stinks, the end drags, but when it’s over, now that’s my favorite part. I am also very glad to have my husband joining me for a few classes, he rocks. Exercise helps me find balance.

2. Balance. This is my ultimate goal and a word that has really taken on a whole new importance in my life lately. Balance seems to be the key to successful living. There is a balance in relationships, in activity, in work and in play. Lately, if I feel there is an area of my life that seems off, I ask myself about the balance. What is not getting a proper place, and what could use more of my attention? It seems that God plays a very important part in my “balancing act.” Regardless of what they day may bring, if I reconcile it to Him, and take him at His word, it all falls into place and he restores me.

1. Children. They are my most prized possession. The way they smile and laugh throughout the day. The way my almost three year old throws a fit and I have to pick him and help him work through it. The way he is an angel 10 seconds later (or 10 hours). I feel so extremely blessed to have been given the right to mother these children. Each one of them different and special, each one so unique. It’s God’s way of showing us how much He loves us. I think He whispers, “These children are to teach you about grace, and to see how it feels to love just a fraction of how much I love you.” It is quite amazing…

Godspeed

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude…

  1. notesalongthepath says:

    I came across a website today and linked it on my blog. It’s http://www.calleman.com, and he talks about all of us making changes to the simpler life in preparing for transformation in 2012. Love your gratitude list–it’s a lot like mine!
    Pam B

    Like

Respond

