Jon & Kate…leaving out the 8?

Are they neglecting the children’s future for their own selfish reasons for divorce? The following was my status on twitter:

#Jon & Kate splitting, nvr watched show but I call BS, shouldn’t b allowed 2 take easy way out, u have 8 kids, FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT, mk it work

Next comes responses on facebook:

  1. Absolutely – instead of canceling the show and counseling, they’re opting for the paycheck and divorce. And they just renewed their vows last August. Glad they got that free trip to Hawaii in.
  2. She was mean to her husband anyhow…too bad they milked the world for what they could first. Guess they are taking the easy way out.
  3. its all about the money with them!!
  4. Easy way out, Ro, I agree… Their first mistake was “putting their kids first”… if there’s anything I’ve learned you put God first, and take care of your marriage, THEN, the kids will work themselves out… happy, loving parents = happy kids. Nothing does more for a kids self esteem than seeing their parents love each other and respect each other… just my .02
  5. you are so right on there!
  6. We don’t know ANYTHING about them. We only see what filters through the producers and the paparazzi. We need to pray for this family and not armchair judge.
  7. I didn’t judge… I just know what I know…they said themselves last night on TV that they BOTH put their kids FIRST. Several times, over and over… “my kids come before anything else”, etc etc…. As a matter of fact, I don’t see where anyone judged them here. She WAS mean to her husband (he said last night that he lost himself and let her run over him), it’s obvious they were opting for the paycheck and divorce over their ailing marriage…
  8. I totally agree with you Ro…they kept saying they are splitting up for the kids ~ total crap!! It is just an easy way out…they did not want to make an effort to change their own ways and I guess money talked louder then their love for eachother. I think it is the worst thing for their kids! I don’t mean to judge, but just from the way he was talking in the interview, he is ready for something new (I’m only 32 yrs old)…lose yourself, that was a family it all about. You gain so much more when you lose yourself and care for others.

I agree with the above comments, I think marriage is hard…without cameras, without 8 kids, without LOTS of money, marriage is hard. No, we don’t know these people, really. But I think it would be silly to assume that we don’t know “anything” about them, in fact, we know quite a bit. Even if you don’t know the show, chances are someone you know does and people talk about it all the time. Which is the point of reality tv, if the whole thing was a farce no one would tune in, they are real, what they are going through is real, life is hard. The fact that they opened their lives up to the entire world does, in fact, give anyone the right to critique, judge, point fingers, make accusations…isn’t that the entertainment draw? People have been making their opinons of this family since day one, and they have been banking on it…

Secondly, I think it’s wrong to judge. The whole thing sickens me. It makes me wonder why anyone would invite this drama into their lives. Is nothing sacred anymore? I love kids, I have kids and chose to spend my time away from them at a hospital that cares exclusively for children. I believe that many mothers and wives feel the same way and are quick to voice thier opinion, myself included. There are still a few questons that need to be answered before we can really come to any conclusions. Do Jon & Kate have a contact with TLC that they are legally bound to? Or worse…Do Jon & Kate have a marriage contract that allows Jon to see other women off camera as long as he fills his show obligations on camera? Has thier marriage been a farce for along time, and we, the fooled, are just now finding out? Is this all for the money?
As a woman and mother I say, fight until you bleed for the kids, for the man, for the dream. Keep the family together, at all costs. I hope with all hope they save the marriage, that they love their children, and that money hasn’t wrapped it’s steely, unforgiving fingers around their throats. I hope it doesn’t pull this entire family under. In any case, should you care to watch the sinking ship for yourself it seems you won’t be able to do that just yet. TLC is pulling the plug, for now…
GODSPEED JON & KATE, and all the eight.
About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jon & Kate…leaving out the 8?

  1. Andrea says:

    Not sure if you saw the AP News link I just shared, but it’s been reported that in her filing papers, Kate stated they’ve lived apart for the last 2 years.

    I used to enjoy watching this show because it’s a glimpse into a family dynamic that I’ll never experience. But knowing that for the past few seasons, maybe more, that it’s been just a show for the cameras? Unreal.

    I’m not quite sure what to think of it all now, except to hope that those kiddos stay as well-adjusted as they seem to be.

    And I definitely won’t be tuning in for another show.

    Like

Respond

