At a loss

Read a disturbing story  this morning about a young girl gang raped and beaten in California.  The story says officers found the girl semi-conscious and naked from the waist down near picnic tables on school property. It challenges me at the core of my being to understand what was going on in the minds of these young men. But then I understand that decisions like these aren’t made hastily, they are chosen in that moment, but are made as a progression of bad decisions, a lifetime of neglected emotions, resulting in hardened hearts. I am willing to bet the boys had no one truly invested in their lives, and if they did, the investors must be dealing with the grief that comes with no returns, and many losses. 

It is a reflection of a society without mercy, a community that doesn’t care, a young girl, gang raped, witnessed by possibly 2 dozen people and not reported. I am awestruck and ask myself, “Where was God in this?” I put my own daughter in that place and I wonder what I would do, how would I react? Is it possible to forgive of such a heinous crime? 

I don not know how this young girl will recover and reconcile what has happened to her, I am pressed to pray for her this week, and the weeks ahead. Against my human nature, I am also pressed to pray for the accused, to pray that they’re eyes will be opened to the audacity of their crimes, that they would lament their wrongdoings, seek God, and change their lives…

 

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

