STATE…not everyone can go

That was the slogan the girls made up for the LHS dive team state shirts. We parents had them too, and the moms had bedazzles next to their daughter’s name. I have become the sports fanatic parent that even wears a button with her daughters picture on it, and I love it. Stephan even got kicked out of the diving well because he was taking pics in a spot designated only for professional ph0togs, haha. I told him not to wear his team shirt. 🙂

It was a great season for Mesha here at home, 1st in conference, wins all season except for one loss when we were out of town. Therefore, making the drive to St. Louis was exciting and hopeful.

We spent Friday relaxing, taking in a movie, and planning our Saturday morning. When Saturday morning came we were up and off to the Rec-Plex with plenty of time to spare. If only we hadn’t driven 4 miles past the exit because we were arguing about the pictures Stephan had taken all season. Oh, and then there was the other 4 miles we drove in wrong direction once we had finally found the right street because we were resolving the previous argument. But alas, we made it, on time, with bells on…and gloves off.

The meet was different than previous meets, in that it started right on time. Precisely. The meet consisted of 11 dives with a preliminary cut and a final cut. Mesha was slow and steady into the final round lingering at 4th or 5th place. As the final round began she did one of her hardest dives and pulled in near 45 points, then again, and again. Leaving her finishing a strong second to Mary Kate Hardy of Parkway West High school in Ballwin, MO. I can remember Mesha diving as a young girl and Mary Kate being there, but diving against the older kids because she was too good to dive in her age category. I also remember Mesha’s coach saying something to the effect of, watch her, because she would be in the Olympics before she was 18. I don’t think she dives competitively anymore, but needless to say, she’s still got some rips left in her, being that she beat my daughter.

The second best diver in the state ain’t too shabby, in fact, I think it’s downright awesome. We are so proud of her and her accomplishments. And eagerly anticipate next year. In the meantime, it’s back to KU we go, school season is over and we need to get back in the water!

We’ll be in Ames, Iowa for Spring Regionals next weekend. Thanks for all of your well wishes and support over the past season.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

