Embracing the mustard seed

My life lately has been a series of opportunities to let God shine. I feel as if I am continually given the chance, like many, to embrace the mustard seed and live by faith. Not a faith that trusts God in the superficial, but in all of the things we as humans try to control in the day to day. Here in America, we don’t have to trust God for our next meal. I understand there are some that do but in general we live in a land of plenty. We don’t have to trust Him for clothing to wear and medicine for our sick children. Here, the idea of trusting God in the mundane, at least for me, is more of a challenge. I have lots of resources. I have friends, money, ideas, plans, abilities etc., that enable me to work things out. I use twitter AND facebook for goodness sake! Very seldom do I really, truly, wait on God and believe in my heart that He will take care of the intimate details of my life and longings of my heart.

This morning I not only embrace the mustard seed, I grind it up and sprinkle in my eyes. That sounds harsh, I know. But the faith I am attempting to summon is causing me to let all of my guards down. My eyes are swollen, I spent most of last night crying. We have some drama in our family right now. Nothing that thousands of other families haven’t gone through, but it’s still very, very tough. Last night I tried to control the situation, and when that didn’t work I cried. I thought of all the things I could do to help relieve the pain, none of them sounded very enticing. This morning I am persuaded that HE is faithful.

Every idea I can come up with to help solve this issue just feels wrong. The other day I wrote about peace that passes understanding, I am asking Him for that today, and tomorrow, and the next. I have to trust Him, it is the only way. I approach this day with a quiet confidence that,  “He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6 I am also comforted by this,”Behold, I lay in Zion a stumbling stone and rock of offense, And whoever believes on Him will not be put to shame.” Romans 9:33.

Believing Christ, depending on Christ, embracing the mustard seed.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Embracing the mustard seed

  1. liz says:

    So true! when he is all you have, He is all you need.

    Like

  2. irmbrown says:

    Was going through some posts about the mustard seed and found yours… hope things are better for you by now…
    Here’s the link to what God showed me about the hard times:

    http://meditationsfromzion.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/fixing-my-eyes-on-the-unseen/

    Like

  3. ro says:

    Thanks for the link. I appreciate the feedback, life waxes and wanes but we’re taking it as it comes and holding onto His grace for comfort.

    Like

Respond

