Insert Cliche here

The best one I have heard lately is, “They really just don’t get it.” I am referring to teenagers, young adults, generation now.  The cliche can apply to lots of things but what I am referring to is complacency, let’s talk Facebook…

I have a teenager, I know lot’s of teens, neighbors, friends, relatives etc. and the one thing they all have in common is facebook. It will be interesting to see how this social networking things plays out, but in the mean time, here’s my issue. Many young people have thousands of friends, and believe it or not some of their friends are the newly tech informed grandma, grandpa, aunts, uncles, neighbors, etc. Many people like  to post song lyrics they identify with as their status. Now, there is a big difference between Lil’ Wayne and Jim Croce, or Lady GaGa and Karen Carpenter. So, young people, if you wouldn’t go up to your grandma/grandpa/aunt/uncle/or neighbor and say, “I wanna take a ride on your disco stick,” then why would it make sense to post it on facebook when grandma and grandpa have a vested interest in their newfound techy pastime and their grandteens life.  I won’t even reduce myself to writing Lil’ Wayne lyrics here, I just don’t understand the utter and complete lack of respect, I don’t understand the lack of concern for image.

I realize that it’s an awesome thing when you are grandparent and you friend request that special grandchild or younger person you know, and you realize they have approved your request and viola, you’re in the club…then the status’ start rolling in. I am NOT a grandparent, but I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve sat and shook my head after reading the status’ of young people I know. I mean, have you no shame? Why not just remove the older people on your friends list? I hate to say this, but I have to wonder, do they just. not. care.

If the issue is utter lack of concern for the opinions of elders in their lives, we are in for a harsh reality, and one that I am not completely ready to embrace. If the youth of this society don’t care about respect and saving face now, what will we be in for twenty years from now, and what will their children be like?

I really hate to sound like a total prude, but frankly, it’s kind of starting to disgust me. I want to tell generation NOW that it DOES make a difference what people think of you. That people WILL form judgements based on things you post on facebook, that the pictures you publish matter. I want to tell them that they should be concerned with appearances and that desiring to be a good person, even on facebook, it a good thing.

If facebook is the new communication tool, and you just want to be young and wild and communicate in a raw and comedic sense, for heaven’s sake, don’t confirm anyone that you couldn’t tell in person the things you post on facebook.

It’s 4 in the morning, I’m done.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

