Old Schooling this week on Cribs

Winding down from another day of school at the crib and I feel tired, maybe a little run down, but really satisfied. Like inside, I feel full.

I wish I could describe all the antics that went on in this house today, but it’s too late for all that, and it would entertain you so much that you could never be entertained again. Let’s just say, that I completely understand those calls from my sons first grade teacher asking, “Do you have any tips at all on how I can motivate him?” I feel ya Mrs. Bennett, I feel ya. But we had a mini breakthrough today, when asked to do some writing there was a major groaning from his mouth that made my heart sink for fear of what might happen next, but he did not throw himself on the floor nor did he hold his breath! And I simply can’t believe the improvement in his handwriting in a matter of three days. Wow.

As for the actress, my 9-year-old, she’s a cursive writing machine and a perfectionist, which could be our biggest hurdle. But she’s a teachers dream which is why I can understand her second grade teacher sending me notes telling me how much she loved having her in class:)

I think we will get about thirty hours in this week, with most of our hours tomorrow being field trip hours. They’ve earned it, heck, I’ve earned it! What kind of hours can I count while the kids are at the babysitter and I am at the spa? Anyone?? 😉

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
Aside | This entry was posted in Family, God stuff, homeschooling, humor, life, motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Schooling this week on Cribs

  1. Angel Selden says:

    It will get better and easier with experience and time! Coincidentally, I just wrote a post about motivation today. Good luck, and continue to trust your intuition!

    Like

    • rolanda says:

      Thanks! I am gathering that. We are five days in and I can already see a difference. I am not trying to be Pollyanna, this is serious business, probably one of the biggest and most difficult ventures I have ever taken on, but I know, and I see in my kids, that they love the consistency, and they’ve already improved! Can’t wait to read your post!

      Like

Respond

