More Motivating Than Manipulation

Heartwarming…

Nourishing Genius

Today I’d like to express my deepest gratitude to a former Scout leader for being a wise mentor, specifically regarding a single decision you made that would change the course of a young man’s life.

When Sam, a relative of mine, was almost 12, he had the opportunity to participate in an 11 mile hike with his boy scout troop. He wanted this experience so badly, but he was obese and knew it would be more challenging for him.

It turned out to be the most difficult section of this 275-mile trail, much more difficult and intense than he imagined–rough terrain and a series of switchbacks, often as steep as climbing stairs.

A little over a mile into the hike, he broke down. He collapsed on his back in the middle of the trail and started sobbing. He wanted this so badly, but he physically couldn’t go on. He had…

View original post 439 more words

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

