24

24. Hours without Facebook that is, and wow, what a difference a day makes. I’m happy, lol’ing all day long. I’m no longer self-absorbed and feel like I can live life with a gusto few have, like my brother does.

Hmph, or not. The past 24 hours have been like a miserable death of sorts and all I can do is check my email to see if anyone’s wanted to say hello in the most archaic of methods. Nope. I have no idea if anyone’s liked me, commented on my statuses or stalked my photos. They have no idea if I’ve worked out today, what I’ve eaten, where I’ve gone or whom I’ve been with. No check ins, friends to reject or accept, no notifications. I’ve dropped off the face of the Facebook and its the end of the world as I know it. No, I don’t feel fine. But I do feel free.

Some people have asked me why, so here’s my short list:

1) It was bordering on unsafe, all I’m going to say about that.

2) I’m more of a narcissist than I ever imagined I could be, smh.

3) No one cares what I am eating, where I am or who I am with, when I exercise or go out for dinner. No one needs all my witty rolandaisms…right?

It comes from a deep want to know and be known, at the age of five I remember telling people how much I wanted to be a movie star, even then I knew they were important and I wanted that. I love Facebook so much that I knew it was time for us to take a break. I just hope the world can exist without me for a while, or that I can exist without them. When you’ve started to notice trends and want to create bar graphs based on which friends like your statuses and which so-called friends don’t, that’s a problem. Like, my real friends aren’t my friends anymore because I’ve noticed a lack of likes lately? Say that three times real fast. Or when other people say they might take a Facebook break and I get all defensive inside, in the words of Jeff Foxworthy…heres your sign.

Anyway, this is doable, I just have no idea for how long…

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
Gallery | This entry was posted in current events, Family, Friends, God stuff, homeschooling, humor, life, motherhood, random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

