Second quarter

Approximately 4 days ago I wrote the most epic of blog posts. Right here on this site. I wrote, read, edited, read again, and attempted to post a link. It was, in that attempt, that I inadvertently deleted my post. Resolute on keeping my commitment to write once a quarter, here I sit trying to recall the epicness from 4 days past.

Gah.

It was a home school update. And I am not entirely sure I have it in me to try and recreate the post, and maybe it wasn’t as epic as I made it out to be. So here is a recap:

If you read this blog at all you may remember that I was pretty stressed out one week in. I realized I was relying pretty heavily on wine to maintain my sanity. I quit drinking as soon as the realization hit me. I knew that hungover moms don’t make great teachers, so I decided to put the kabash on that.

I prayed and prayed a few months before the homeschooling that God would provide a job where I could
work from home. God answered, right away. A friend of mine contacted me about a company she was working for that needed a phone nurse, from home, to work approx 5-15 hours per week. Hallelujah right?!

She came over, set up my office; laptop, laser jet printer, phone and office supplies. I needed a little help setting up the laptop, figuring out how it worked etc. I’ve been married for ten years and only used Mac products since, hubs drank the kool-aid. I turned to him to help me with this lap top and all I got was a raised eyebrow, “I’m not touching that, I don’t know anything about those machines.” Ruff.

As luck would have it the job started the same week we started homeschooling, hence the reason my wine consumption became an issue. It’s funny that we can pray for something and God gives us what we ask for and it ends up not being anything we thought it would be. I loved the job, if it were away from home and not during school hours, but combining the two didn’t work. Maybe God, in his infinite wisdom, knew I needed a reason to be thankful the second semester. Yesterday was my last day, it was just too much, and that alone makes me smile. In addition to pulling two school age children in crucial learning years from public school and attempting to educate them at home, I am still a mom and wife and work at the hospital per diem. And as of February I will only be doing that every other Saturday and Sunday which will really give me some room to breath and figure this homeschooling gig out.

I have another update coming soon, I can’t wait to share a new curriculum I’ve found that’s radically changing how we do things!

Oh yeah, I’m allowing myself the occasional glass of wine again. And things are starting to feel so much more like I think they’re supposed to feel. I’m not contemplating private school tomorrow or running away, changing my name, and moving to another country anymore either. That, my friends, is a sign that things are looking up for this homeschool momma. Salud!

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in homeschooling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second quarter

  1. Andre T says:

    ahahah epic post xD

    Like

Respond

