Survival Continuum

We are all in varying stages of survival on this planet.
We are on a survival continuum that has varying degrees of success.
Some of us are failing miserably while others are doing the finest job of living.
Most of us are somewhere between.

Struck with the notion that life is instantaneous in the scheme of things I am moved. As a girl life felt forever, ongoing, something to be taken advantage of, now a women I picture myself at the starting block and hear the gun fire daily. This too shall pass, my life is only as important as I let it be.

From the beginning of recorded history we have faced many uncertainties. Trouble, hardship, persecution, sword. Humans fight to the death for their beliefs, for power, for nothing. From the beginning of time this trouble has been constant, try as we might to live in a world of our own creating, we are really at the mercy of our fellow-man, our mother earth, our Father God. I think He gave this world to us, a long time ago, after the fall. He gave us this world so that we could prove to each other that there is no God and we are in control. How are we doing?

We are living, we are surviving, but one thing we can all be sure of is death, death will come our way, trouble will knock on our door, destruction looms. Realizing these things all I can muster in this heart of mine is, that Hope is alive. Hope lights the darkness.

Hope keeps us moving, keep us running, keeps us actively in the game of life. God, country, community, family. What are you living for? What keeps you working hard, keeps you motivated to fight for the small dreams placed within your heart as a child? We all have them, realized and unrealized, ideas and desires, that fuel our want to live.

My hope is in the things I listed above. God, country, community, family, and so much more. It is in this hope that I live and breathe, but I am careful not to hope in collective humanity, they have proven themselves untrustworthy. There is nothing new under the sun. I trust some people, love some people, and engage in community with those people, but I can’t base my life on them. I don’t depend on them to keep me happy and healthy, to make good laws and prevent war, it simply won’t happen. We will all let one another down. I trust in something greater.

This morning I take comfort in Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the plans I have for you declares The Lord, plans for your good and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

I had a dream about death once, it was surreal. I was dying, in a cataclysmic event with many other people, as we passed from death to life people began singing. It was one of the most beautiful feelings I can recall, awake or asleep. I am not afraid of death, something inside me looks forward to it, but I am bent on gleaning what I can from this life, in hopes that it will better prepare me the unfathomable existence of the next.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in God stuff, life, random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

