Are your buns old and still pretty?

I’ve been making bread again. I have been on this low carb journey for so long, and we still buy the occasional loaf of bread for the kids and hubs, I have some every now and then for breakfast or for half a sandwich. I decided making my own would be healthier than store bought considering the long list of ingredients, not to mention the taste. Totally aside, there are waaaaay too many diet recommendations out there, sometimes I am a little overwhelmed with gluten free, no carb, low carb, no sugar, low calorie, etc. The more I think it over the more I want to subscribe to moderation, and tweak it for what works for my own body, like nothing after dinner and low carb at that meal. Anyway…I digress.

In November we attended a hot dog bar-b-que for the end of soccer season. Our coaches wife eats no bread at all and was giving away packages of buns at the end of the party like a consolation prize. My husband accepted. The buns are still in our bread box. Why, you ask? Because we are lazy? Because we don’t pay attention to details like rotting bread in the box? Honestly, I am not sure, they’ve just been in there, staring back at me as if to say, “Look at me, I’m perfect in every way, squeeze me, see I’m ok, there’s nothing wrong with me.” Case in point:

20140126-141614.jpg

They are very nice looking buns by the way, and (shrugging shoulders) they are pretty darn soft…would you eat them? Can you see the best by date? There has been a lot in the media lately about eating food that’s supposedly expired. Even the owners of Trader Joes are getting in on that action, I guess they are about to open a food chain that sepcializes in selling this expired or, best by dated food. Read about it here.

I ask you again, would you eat it? There are at least thirty ingredients that I counted in the these buns, 6 or 7 in mine; flour, oil, water, yeast, salt, honey or the like, and maybe an egg or two.
I just can’t get over how perfect these buns still look…kinda scary. Just in case you can’t see the best by date, it’s November 22, 2013, 90 days past the recommended consume by date.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in food, life, random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

