Crazy Continuum for the Homeschooling Mom

We are well past mid-term in our first year of homeschooling and I can honestly tell you, the tears are less and less frequent, from all of us, and in general we have made progress.

On the crazy continuum I still feel like a very strong 8/10. I feel crazy because I can’t imagine why I wanted to do this and absolutely love it at the same time. I really enjoy my kids, especially when they are listening and following directions, and when they get along it’s like pure bliss, nothing fills my heart more. That being said, when they aren’t getting along, and they aren’t listening, and they aren’t working diligently…I feel like my head is going to pop off like a champagne bottle cork on New Year’s Eve, right in the school room, and I have a sneaking suspicion it wouldn’t deter them from whatever scuffle they were in.

Lots of people ask me if I plan to continue with this next year, that always makes me chuckle a little inside. I am not sure my pride would let me take the kids back to school next year, I think that would be like admitting failure. It wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world to go back to public school, they have some amazing teachers there and lots of friends, but I don’t think I could do that for a number of reasons, now private school is another story:) I remain neutral about our plans for next year but am happy with the way things are progressing thus far, at this rate if we keep fixed on the goal, barring pms and other occasional trip-ups, I think we will be in the groove and doing this the way we need to by the beginning of our third year, hopefully.

It’s been an amazing year, we’ve had some good and tough times, but I’ve never regretted a minute of it, questioned myself, yes, but no regrets. I’ve learned so much about my kids, things I didn’t know there was to learn. I think that’s been one of the most surprising joys about this journey. They are neat little people and we are blessed with the opportunity to hang out with them more and teach them things, it really doesn’t get better than that for this mamma.

A high note for us was art class yesterday. Five plus months into this gig and we had our first art class. I’ve never felt confident enough in the core subjects to waste time on art, travesty. They have art projects at our classical conversations class, and they have music daily, but I’ve put family art time on the back burner. My mother is an artist, I am just a little embarrassed, but we did it and had a great time. It was symbolic of a freedom we are finally finding, a peace that I am finding, that learning is fun and incorporates all kinds of activities, up to and including, art.

How long have you been homeschooling and what’s your biggest challenge? Do you ever have days where you feel like loading the kids in the car and driving up to the local public school? Do you feel like taking the kids inside, re-registering, and then heading off for lunch and shopping with the girls? We are truly a rare breed us homeschooling moms, we are crazy for our families and wild about our children. Not to say public school families aren’t passionate about their families but we take it a step further with homeschooling. I know it’s not for everyone, but now that I’ve taken the first step, I can’t imagine ever going back.

Emerie is so happy we finally get some art time in, check out some of our creations and our recent field trip to the Pony Express Museum in St. Joseph Missouri.

20140131-075913.jpg</

.

20140131-075923.jpg</

20140131-075936.jpg</

20140131-075944.jpg

20140131-075950.jpg

20140131-075959.jpg

20140131-080004.jpg

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, homeschooling, life, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crazy Continuum for the Homeschooling Mom

  1. christinamackie says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey! Art refreshes us too, for sure!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Respond

