Homeschool Hour Counting Obsession

The house is quiet, I’m drinking tea and not watching the bachelor, that’s right, not watching the bachelor. I could be, because it’s on my server, and honestly somehow there is a missed episode so I can’t watch it. Apparently there is a nurse from my hospital, in my town, that most likely wins, so I’ve watched, it’s like my brain on Pringles, like mingles, that’s appropriate. Anyway, I’m abstaining because I can’t skip an episode, not because I am better than The Bachelor

About home school. This is one busy lifestyle. I have a question for other homeschooling moms. Do you feel the need to educate with every extra moment? I do. This is my first year, and my kids are 7 & 9. Any extra time we have I’m moving them on to the next subject or just a few math drills, or let’s do some reading. I don’t feel like we have much down time, at all. The tv rarely comes on and if it does I make sure we are learning from it, ah hem, unlike my after bedtime guilty pleasure like, The Bachelor.

I’d like to relax a bit. I’ve been obsessed with counting hours, we need 600 core and 400 non core in the state of Missouri. I’ve ridden these kids hard, we have enough to quit now, and part of me would like that. I’d unschool them until fall and they’d probably learn just as much in a more relaxed manner. We now use Math-u-see, Total Language Plus, and Classical Conversations. We didn’t start CC until midterm and can I just say, it saved me. I’ve never thought a lot about giving my kids a classical education, a little, but it wasn’t a die-hard passion, but this, is just perfect for us. I could go on and on, but I won’t. So I’m thinking of switching to Saxon next year and we will review the first half of cycle 2 this summer since we missed it but otherwise once mid April hits I think we are home free-ish. I say free-ish because I’ve been totally bitten by the HS bug. Life is learning and yes we’re going to stay fresh with math by drilling at least 3 times a week, and we’re going to read like little children on the prairie. I plan to have them swimming a ton and practicing their instruments every day, so I’m sure I’m going to hear some whining but this mom has already decided that I can deal with a little whining.

When my daughter was a toddler she screamed and cried when I did her hair, every day. Then I noticed something magical was happening, each day the screaming got a little quieter until one day she pretty much stopped except for the occasional whine. When they realize that it is what is, they’ll just do it, and it will be good for them.

I think.
I hope.

It’s just math, reading, music, and P.E…right:)

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, homeschooling, life, motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

