Are we done yet?

Hello Monday morning! Homeschool Monday how I love thee. Sassy tears and dental fears, it’s 9:51 and I’m almost done. Do you ever feel like once one child gets a grip the other falls like a domino? Bah. It’s amazing how penmanship can sometimes cause the most severe, tear inducing sore throat your home has ever experienced, and how telling that child to go get a glass of ice water can cure that sore throat. One child actually said this morning, “I’m going into my room and into my closet and stuffing macaroni and cheese into my nostrils!” Wow, no that’s a child who is not ready for school today.

We are winding down a bit, a little more relaxed, hours completed for the year, but gearing up for July 1 when we can start counting again. Missouri requires 600 core hours and 400 non core hours. I have calculated that if we complete our seat work for 3.5 hours per day, 4 days a week, year round with 8 weeks to take off here and there, we can still meet the requirements. This will mean no summer break, no 6 week-long stretches where nary a math problem or page from a book reach the brain, this means year round study. Summers will look more like this, wake up, read devotional, make beds, eat breakfast, wash face, brush teeth, school work, POOL THE REST OF THE DAY! I think we can handle that, right? If we start by 8, which is my goal, we can be at the pool by noon. This is a lofty goal, but I want to make sure that school is fun in the summer too.

That’s all for today, I have to get my mind refocused on today. But tell me what approaches you use for homeschooling hours and schedule. Do you go year round or stay with the district calendar?

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in homeschooling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

