Easy Tiger

World Vision sent me this after raising $200, I haven’t taken it off yet.

training 5k at PVBC in Liberty, MO


This post has been a long time coming and finding the time to get it done has been no easy feat. As I type, my son is chattering in my ear and I desperately want to dismiss him but I can’t bring myself to do it.

Ok, he left, hunger beckons.

I am running a half marathon. sigh. There, I said it, really, really publicly too. I needed something to get off the couch for, and turns out the folks at World Vision were happy to oblige. Per world Vision “nearly 1,000 children under age 5 die every day from diarrhea caused by contaminated water, poor sanitation, and improper hygiene.”  This is a crisis and we take having clean water for granted, we just don’t understand the magnitude of the problem, or at least I didn’t, until I met Cory and his wife Jamie.

We were having an end of season softball party at our community pool when I saw lots of people gathered at the street corner, I was busy decorating and setting out food. Someone said that a man had been hit on his bike.

I was new to cycling but had quickly fallen in love with the sport as I was training for a triathlon, and by the looks of this guys bike, in a mangled heap on the side of the road, the affinity was shared.

I was there at his side pretty quickly, that’s what nurses do, there’s nothing remarkable or heroic about it, it’s our job. 

 I have training in this, I can do this. 

“Hey buddy, I’m just going to hold your neck here ok, just try and stay still.”

He was disoriented and writhing around, attempting to get up from the pool of blood he was lying in, a woman holding a baby was pulled off to the side of the road, she looked tearful, she stared in our direction, helplessly. 

“It’s ok buddy, just take some deep breaths, help is on the way, you’re going to be ok.” I had no idea if that were true. I thought about his family, his future plans, his amazing bike that I could only dream of owning and how he would most likely never feel the wind in his face as it kept the beat beneath him, like an aluminum horse that is fueled by his soul and his strength.

Someone noted that he was having trouble seeing because the sun was in his face. We decided they could stand over him to help block the bright radient beams shining directly into his eyes.  The asphalt was hot, I could only imagine that the heat was adding injury…to injury. I prayed with him quietly, an awkward prayer of help to the great creator. The prayer was haphazard and nothing like the prayers I’vd composed in my head when looking back on that day, but nonetheless, heard.

While trying to survey his injuries EMS arrived and I gave my report and handed over his care to them. His left arm and back were so bloodied I couldn’t assess the damage, I wouldn’t be surprised if he had sustained cervical spine injuries and broken bones.

I went to work the next day, shaken. I wasn’t looking forward to my next ride.

My husband said that on Sunday he came by with his wife to bring me flowers. He walked to the door. 

Fast forward a year or so, I hear he’s doing marathons now. I think that sounds pretty cool, especially because he does them with purpose.

Fast forward a few more years, I meet his wife. She’s teaching a nutrition class on how to sugar detox that I want to take, they won’t let me pay for it. I take the class for free. 

Givers.

The class was excellent and I greatly benefitted. It was during this class that Jamie began to share with me Cory’s drive and passion about running and about his partnership with World vision. We’ve sponsored children through World Vision for years, and it’s a special organization.

Jamie spoke about an upcoming run that several people in our community would be participating in. She encouraged me to to get outside of my comfort zone, let God work. I did a little research and announced on the team FB page and my personal FB page,  that I would be joining. I signed up at the World Vision website. 

I would be running a half  marathon.

Now, a smart girl might write this inspirational blog post, post half marathon. Ha. It’s been an interesting 7 weeks. I decided to take this on and immediately felt the buyers remorse one might feel after purchasing a state of the art treadmill and parked it in their living room, but this time, everyone is watching.

I am writing now because I am just beginning to believe in myself.

This run helps raise money to provide wells and clean water for communities that have suffered without that convience for far too long. These communities don’t know the luxery of cold filtered water for their gourmet coffee in the morning. Communities that have never heard of fruit infused water for the ladies brunch and baby shower. These communities cannot fathom the average American home using 400 gallons of water  daily. And not just any water…clean water.

I am running so they can have water with out having to worry about disease, so they can drink when they are thirsty, so that I can give back. I’ve never had to walk 6K for unclean water, two or three times a day in order to survive.

I have run a 5k three times in the past week, pretty much without stopping. Ok there was this one hill. Today I ran 4.36 miles. I am going to get this done, come hell or high water, that’s what Grams used to say. I am starting to believe in myself because I believe in the strength of the human spirit when fueled by purpose.  I believe these communities need us to believe in ourselves and do what we can. My legs work, so I will run. 

I am asking you to help me raise $1,310 and three of you have already joined me. I need twenty-three more people to join me in this effort to reach my goal. $50 will Provide clean water for one person.

Do I need to don a Sally Struthers wig and whine?

I will.

Don’t tempt me.

You know I will.

You can view and donate here

Read more about Cory here.

For information on the Restart nutrition program click here.

Godspeed friends.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

