Just Thinking

It’s a daunting task to set about blogging when having not done so regularly for a period of years…there’s too much I want to say. But I won’t. What I will say, is that the keyboard has been calling me. I feel sometimes as though I’ve neglected a true friend. Writing, for me, is the highest form of catharsis, I need this. My goals for the coming year include just making regular time to write.

The holiday season is upon us and I am finding myself so grateful. The blessings that cross my mind each day sting my eyes with gratitude. The magnitude of what we have is unspeakable. We aren’t what you would call rich, we drive used cars that are paid off, we have a beautiful home that is very much not paid off, otherwise we are debt free. We’d made lots of poor financial decisions before meeting and marrying and then continued for about 5 years. It is the flat screen tv that I credit with our debt reduction. My husband had to have one. The CRT days were quickly becoming akin to wearing bell bottoms in the 80’s, totally unrad. My husband saw an ad for a new flat screen and he wanted to buy it, ok well finance it. I asked him if he thought we needed another payment in our lives and handed him a book that I hadn’t even read. The rest was history. He came home about a week later with a binder marked, gazelle intensity and a part-time gig delivering pizzas. Can you guess the book he read? The book was entitled, “The Total Money Makeover,” by Dave Ramsey. We are in our early forties and we’re doing alright, but we could have been so much better. Raise your children with these financial principals, it won’t steer them wrong.

Grateful is the position of my heart. You can’t really have a warm home, food in your belly and money to pay the bills without feeling overwhelmingly grateful. My family is healthy, we are all on the journey looking to God and asking the big questions, letting him lead. There is always going to be trouble, we have experienced these seasons, but now I try t take a few moments each day to examine the magnitude of life, the enormous beauty of just being, it’s pure, it’s simple, it’s overwhelming. Family meals, crying babies, sassy tweens, daily errands and appointments, schedules begging to be whittled, and the elation of my soul when the calendar is opened and exclaims with quiet enthusiasm, no events. Ahhhhh, that means I can do laundry today, or bake banana bread, call a friend or sit in the bathroom on Facebook for longer than is humanly necessary. I just said that.

I’ve said all I need to say for today, let’s be grateful for the little drops of grace that God so desperately wants to rain down upon us. When life feels too warm, when the tasks and troubles exude from our pores like the sweat from a long days work that should have been over hours ago, look to the skies, there’s a breeze coming in, can you feel the drops? They are there, receive them.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, God stuff, life, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

