Push

Welp, in a few minutes another year will have come and gone and I have so many stories to tell. Some of them are interesting, some mundane and some humorous, but all important to me. But I am most excited about the future and here are some of my top thoughts going into 2017…

I am going gray.
Really going gray.
I know, you’re on the edge of your seat now.
I have colored my hair for the past 20 years or more and I am done, for now. So I will grow out this platinum blonde I’ve used to disguise my wisdom and I look forward to the results. I am ready to accept this part of me and own it. Who knows what I might find under there, I am hoping it will yield more acceptance of the inner person I am. I will get sick of looking at it, but I long for what it symbolizes.

21 days of change.
In the first 21 days of January I am giving up social media, no FB, no twitter, no Insta. I will charge my phone in another room and the first and last thing I say hello or good night to will be my spouse and God. I am looking forward to it. Email me at rolanda@kindasorta.net or text me for communiqué. My husband and I will be doing some intermittent fasting, we will eat once a day and move more, we are tracking each others activity on our fitness apps, and I, will be giving up alcohol. Like wine.
Whine.

Why?

I don’t know, I think it will push me out of my comfort zone, maybe get me writing more and stop wasting so much time looking at other people’s food and taking pictures of mine. Then there’s that dopamine thing. Did you know that social networking notifications release dopamine in the human brain? That’s a potential for addiction, and I, have it. I love FB, twitter and Insta, I own it. I check my notifications constantly, it’s as natural for me as breathing, and that’s problematic. We have this list that my kids have to check off before they even ask for technology time, beds made, faces washed, teeth brushed, daily chores, music practice, schoolwork done, et al. I check my phone before my eyes open in the morning. Again, problematic. We can teach our children to behave in ways opposite of us, but when they become adults they will have to match what they were taught with what they were modeled and thus ensues the fight. I wanna be better…

When we hunger for more, when we live with dissatisfaction, that longing can lead us to God, or far away from Him, I am paraphrasing from Ann Voskamp’s book entitled, One-thousand Gifts. It was given to me by a friend four years ago and it has collected dust on a shelf since that time. It’s pages beckon to dance with my fingers not kept idle by social media.
21 days of reading.
21 days feeling pages of pressed pulp between my fingers, thoughts to keep me pushing into who I am to be.

Grateful
Thankful
Purposeful
Joyful
Intentional
Contented
Confident
Slow

January 1, 2017 seems like a good time for a push. What about you? What are you pushing for this year?

Social Media and Addiction

The Millennial Question
Check out this great you tube video with Tom Bileyu the founder of quest nutrition. It really highlights the problems with technology, more specifically with millennials, but any of us with social networking issues can find some wisdom here.

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Family, God stuff, life, random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

