Day 3

Today was genuine, I made lots of progress being grateful with each moment. I think one reason I love to be so connected is that I need too much. I need to feel validated and acknowledged and staying away from social media has really given me pause. I’m free to be in the present, maybe that doesn’t make sense to some people but for me it’s very real. It’s not just social media but what it stands for. Preoccupation and entertainment. I’m not talking about using it as a tool for business or education I’m talking about average social media preoccupation. When I sit down to work on math or another item of schoolwork with my kids there’s no temptation to see how many likes I have. 

For that reason I’ve disconnected my blog from fb, it won’t auto post when add a new entry. I don’t care who reads this, it’s for me, it’s my way of learning more about myself and acknowledging that some priorities needed to be, reevaluated. 

The other aspect of this fast is food. Heh. No, I’m not fasting from food for 21 days. I wish I were that strong. I’m fasting from food for all but one meal. 

Food is a little band aid for a big wound and it’s the wound that needs attention not the the band aid. Fasting takes my focus off of it and I can be sure that when I have a meal it’s for legitimate reasons. 

The food part has been weird. It’s like completely freeing but I find myself feeling sorry for all the food, the food that’s going to go bad or go to waste and then I realize just how much food we need to live and just how much I’ve been over eating and what a big place it’s had in my life. 

I’m on chapter 3 of Ann’s book. It’s funny how I let it sit for so long, 4 years. 4 years a gift never opened. One gift called one thousand gifts. She talks a lot about being grateful. I love this book already and gratitude has been so important to me lately. Gratitude is what keeps us from losing ourselves, it keeps our head above water to breathe the air, to feel the sun, and at times to drown in our own joy. Transcendence. 

We are so much more than this world tells us we are.

We are so much more than a profile pic, status or a snap. 

The people God has put in your circle need to know that as well and He put you exactly where you are for a reason. A reason that you might not understand until everything is revealed. Trust that process and get out of the way, bigger things are happening than we could muster in our finite minds. 

I won’t get into my thoughts about death but I will say that I think we’ll be surprised with how beautiful it’s going to be. 

Oh boy, I think that’s enough for tonight, it’s seems like the gray hair is going to my head. If I don’t stop now someone might come and have an intervention here. Me, on a couch, surrounded by my friends and family and an iPad, loaded with nothing but Facebook. 

Goodnight friends. 

About rolanda

Forty-something, married to a great guy with a stellar beard, we have 3 children, 2 granny babies and super cool son-in-law. I home school my kids because I love to be around them, I hope they turn out ok. I am a pediatric nurse and I live near the Kansas City area. I like vintage things. I love people, coffee and Jesus and I also love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Respond

